Peach Amaretto Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
DELICIOUS! My parents and husband just raved about this cake. I made it as written, using 2 fresh peeled peaches and put it in a 9" pie plate. Luckily I had an oven saver under my pie plate as some of the butter mixture bubbled over. Next time I will bake in my deep dish pie pan. The taste of these ingredients are absolutely spot on. Thanks sueb for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very good! I was worried that I'd screwed it up a bit as it took quite awhile longer to cook the cake through and then when I flipped it over the top seemed really wet and soggy. After cooling and sitting out for the afternoon though, it firmed up more and while it was a little gooey (not sure if that's how it was supposed to be) but definitely really tasty. I made it in a springform pan as I didn't trust my ability to turn it out of a pie plate in one piece and I think my pie plate would have been too small anyway. I guess I should have played with the oven temp to cook it properly due to my pan change but it still came out great and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe, sueb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Very good! A nice change from peach cobbler or crisp. I had bought a 1/2 peck of peaches from the peach orchard and had already made cobbler, crisp and baked peaches in syrup. I found this recipe and made it just as written. It smelled fabulous and tasted just as great. I made it in a 10" pie pan as I was afraid it would boil over in the 9". I think it would have, so was glad I had used the larger pan. It popped right out of the pie pan also and looked very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Sliced the peaches thin like stated...Would have liked them a little thicker...Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I omitted the almond flavoring and added additional amaretto to the cake batter. This is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southlake, Texas, USA
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This cake is scrumptious and beautiful too. My guests raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This cake was wonderful! Light, easy, and tasty...perfect for summer entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was easy and great tasting. I used fresh picked from the tree peaches. They were little ones so I just used enough to cover the bottom. Almonds were what I found first in the freezer so I used a handful of those. The almond flavoring was a little strong for me and not enough amaretto. I will probably swap the extract for it the next time and try it with the pecans and use a cake pan. My glass pie plate took a lot longer, it finally dawned on me I had to lower the temperature for it. Great recipe Sueb! My son finally got around to trying a piece I saved for him, he said that was some good stuff! (High praise from him, he's not much of a sweet eater and he is a chef)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Sorry to say but I really wasn't all that impressed with this reciepe. The peaches I used were amazingly good, it took all my willpower not to eat too much so I would have enough for the cake. It didn't cook all the way throught even though I cooked it 10 min. longer then the reciepe called for. We thought the cake laked in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I've made this twice since last week, for two separate dinner parties & it was a hit. The flavour combination of peach and amaretto works well in any baked good, and the presentation of this dessert makes it beautiful to present to a host/hostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States