Peach-a-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
SHEER DELIGHT! an absolutely amazing pie. I made two at the same time - and of course I had to make adjustments to what I had on hand - for two pies I used one can of drained peaches (reserved the syrup and used with some confectioners sugar for icing on a cake I made) and one bag of frozen peach slices defrosted and drained. I did have frozen raspberry's (again defrosted drained) I used a tad more sugar than called for maybe a quarter cup (I really dislike measuring), because these weren't fresh and nearing over-ripe peaches after all. I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon to the peaches. Here is where I erred: I should have kept the berries and the peaches separate I mixed everything together and the peach slices turned a lovely red. The pies were perfect, they were delicious, but I think I should have kept the fruit separate, put the peach slices in and then added the raspberry's over top.. I think presentationally, it would have looked a bit nicer. That said - This is a wonderful, delicious pie, it was raved over, I gave one to my neighbor and he and his wife have yet to stop talking about it. I think if one were to try different fruits... mango would work in place of peaches!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
So delicious! I used 6 cups peaches, NOT 4 cups. Also, mix peaches/berries with 1/2 cup sugar, let drain 30 mins. Reserve fluid for ice cream sauce. Mix remaining 1/4c sugar with cinnamon and 1.5Tbsp cornstarch (?more with increased peaches) and stir into peaches just prior to adding to pie crust. Don't forget to do egg wash on bottom of crust and dot top of pie with butter! I'm not one of those "I take pictures of my food" people, but I *did* take a picture of this pie. It was so pretty, and SO tasty. I was very proud of myself with this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
just ok. not a lot of flavor. don't even think we finished it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I made this pie for my mom's birthday, and it was fabulous! I think this will be her annual birthday dessert now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Thought this recipe was great. We bought a bushel of peaches at the market. I used my homemade pie crust. The only change was I brushed the crust with beaten egg before sprinkling with coarse sugar. I baked on a metal baking sheet lined with foil. Some liquid did run out, so I was glad I did! Can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I'm giving this four stars because it came out very watery. I did drain all of the fruit, but it still resulted in a lot of liquid in the pie. To prevent this, using cornstarch or minute tapioca should help. I'll try that next time. Otherwise, the pie turned out great. Flavors were really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Pretty tasty pie. I used frozen fruit mix and let them drain for a good while after I ran water over them to thaw. Got to try and get as much fluid as possible out of the fruit before baking. I used a much smaller amount of sugar...it's really not necessary to use so much when you're baking with sweet fruits. I completely forgot the butter and didn't miss it at all. Will definitely make again when I've got peaches to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I tried the recommended changes mashing 1/3 of the berries ( I used blueberries with good results) with the sugar (I used Splenda), cinnamon and cornstarch rather than flour. I used frozen peaches (allowed to drain/thaw for about 2 hrs - still a little icy but worked fine) and fresh blueberries. Also used the egg wash with raw sugar top. Turned out great...not at all soupy, fresh but not too sweet; crust was gorgeous brown. I let it bake for 10 min; put a crust shield on it for 30 min and took it off for 5-10 min. Terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was my first attempt at a homemade pie, and it was fabulous! The recipe was really easy but tastes like you spent forever making it. This will be a permanent summer staple at my house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This pie turned out great. I did 2T flour and 1T cornstarch and it wasn't runny. Used fresh peaches and frozen raspberries as well a premade crust which I made into a lattice. Looked good and tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States