Pea Shoots and Chicken in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is fantastic! Used local organic hydroponic pea shoots. It tastes just like takeout Chinese (but less greasy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yummy and simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I really had to think about if this was 3 stars or 4. I am giving it 4 stars because - although it was bland - I knew it would be by looking at the ingredients. The sesame oil in the chicken is excellent - I would double it next time. It really doesn't need the 3/4 Cup broth - as the Pea Shoots wilt quickly (like spinach) and release a lot of water. If I were to make this again - I would add more sesame oil to the chicken along with some garlic chili paste, also fresh ginger along with the garlic - add no or just a tiny bit of broth or water - a pinch of salt or soy sauce and a pinch of sugar to bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I am one of those annoying people that rate a recipe, even though not following the recipe exactly. I always read reviews first, just to find out what others think of this recipe and I used suggestions. I doubled the amount of sesame oil, and am glad I did because it wasn't super strong and I love the flavor of sesame oil. I also added 3 cloves more garlic, another bunch of pea shoots, used homemade veggie broth in lieu of the chicken broth, half a small onion diced, some ginger, soy sauce, some sherry, and a bit of sucanet to sweeten it up (I don't use regular sugar - only Sucanet which is also knows as Rapidura). I thought this was so delicious and I wouldn't hesitate to eat this again and again! I do think that the flavor would have been lacking, but I think it has great potential to add flavors that you enjoy. I also served this up with Lundberg Wild Blend (a combination of long grain brown rice, sweet brown rice, Wehani, Black Japonica, and Wild Rice). I would have used another rice (Brown Basmati is my preferred) however the one I used needed to be used up. Really, you should try this it is FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwstdSistr72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was simple and good. You can alter the amounts to your taste. The main thing, I think, is knowing these are called snow pea, or snap pea shoots, and getting a little green in your diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very mild dish but one that compliments the other dishes on the menu. I forgot to get pea shoots but I continued with the recipe anyway :) Due to dietary concerns I used spelt flour instead of cornstarch but added a tablespoon of arrowroot powder with the broth to thicken the sauce. Delicious - especially when paired with Kale and Adzuki Beans (on this site) and served with rice. Next time I'll add more garlic and maybe ginger and other spices if I plan to serve alone. Very nice and flexible dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised by how yummy this was. I had gotten pea shoots in my csa box this week and did not know what to do with them. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Easy and very tasty. We added mushrooms and sugar snap peas along with pea shoots. Tasted like the Chinese place down the road without the MSG. Served with basmati rice, eggrolls, springrolls, and gyoza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Totally skipped the pea shoots, took advice from others, doubled the sesame, threw in a dollop of soy sauce, some chili powder, salt and pepper, and chopped up a bit more garlic and onions (yes totally changed the whole thing around lol) but it actually came out great - quick and easy with rice, and gave me a good concept of something to throw together in 15/20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
simple quick and tasty weekday meal. However, while waiting for the sauce to thicken, my pea shoots wilted too much, so next time will add them right at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States