PDQ Hot Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I think the "chili Sauce" in this recipe refers to a sauce that comes in a bottle (Heinz) and not the type of chili sauce that one would use for hot dogs. That would make a big difference in the outcome of this recipe. The bottled sauce is more like ketchup or seafood sauce than chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have been making beef barbecues for years and usually put the roast in the oven and roast until really done. You could do it on the stove top, but one work of advice. It is MUCH EASIER TO SHRED THE BEEF WHILE IS STILL HOT. Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Even the girls enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I rarely eat red meat but I did try some of this and it was very tasty and spicy. I cooked this in the crockpot and it was very tender and shredded easily. I served this on toasted hamburger buns and my guys really enjoyed this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I would have given this a four, but the other three people in the house said a soild 5. It was really good exactly as written. We did not make put it on bread. I used a crock pot on low for about 4 hours and then high for about 1 1/2 hours. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I would have given this four stars, but my wife thought it was a three at best, so I split the difference. She thought it was too sweet, even though I cut the sugar in half. Might try it again and leave the sugar out entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This turned out really good. Am going to try it in my crockpot next. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Wow- this one is a keeper!!! I'm still a novice, so I'm very selective about the recipes that I keep in my "black box". This one got four out of four family votes for the box- even my 6 and 4 yr olds loved it! I followed the recipe exactly except I used a 2.5 lb chuck roast instead of a 4 lb, and I did NOT adjust the other ingredients to match. It turned out perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This is sooo good!!! My family loves anything 'chili' so it was a huge hit!! We took it with us on a family 'potluck' and everyone who managed to get a sandwich raved about it! I did add extra garlic and some onion salt as well just to kick it up a bit. I also used a canned medium chili sauce and cooked on low heat for 5 hours, it was super juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States