PBJ Cupcakes - Berry Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
What a delicious cupcake! Very moist and soft. I didn't have strawberry extract so I just used vanilla. I found some delicious homemade strawberry jam at the farmer's market and used that instead of raspberry jam. Instead of beating the jam into the batter, I folded 1/4 cup in before placing into the cupcake pan. This way it it has streaks of jam running through. After baking, i took a knife and took a little hole out of the middle then I warmed up the other 1/4 cup of jam for 10 seconds in the microwave and filled each cupcake. My peanut butter frosting I used 1/2 cup butter, 1 1/4 cup peanut butter, 1 1/2 cup pwd sugar, and 3 tbsp of heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
frosting was great!! cupcake... eh.... is the best I can say. not horrible but not as sweet as I would like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
My cakes unfortunately turned out a little drier than I like. However, the girls at the Casino loved them. I filled each one with strawberry jam to moisten them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Super moist! I used about half the icing sugar for the frosting and had more than enough icing for the batch.I also substituted strawberry extract for vanilla. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjonesme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I LOVED these. While it's sort of strange, it was a nice departure from the normal yellow/white/chocolate cupcake. I made them with my grandmother's homemade strawberry jelly. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This peanut butter frosting is to die for if you love peanut butter! (I couldn't keep my boyfriend out of it). I split the batter into two and made half with strawberry jam and half with blackberry jam, made 10 of each with smaller cupcakes. As others have said this is a very dense cake not like a regular cupcake. I found after baking and tasting that there wasn't enough of the jam flavor for me so I cut out small holes in the middle of the cupcakes and added a little of the jams to give them more flavor, then frosted. THESE WERE A GREAT HIT (made them for my father-in-law on his birthday, he is a PB&J fanatic) Thanks for the recipe! :) I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURAMA1230
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Excellent recipe - came in second place in a cupcake contest with this recipe. The cupcakes are nice and moist, the frosting is AMAZING. Filled the cupcakes with strawberry jam and sprinkled crushed up potato chips on the top (it sounds gross, but I promise it's delicious!!). Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great recipe. I used the ingredients for 36 cupcakes, followed the directions to a T with the exception of the Strawberry Extract and instead used LORANN OILS Strawberry Flavor. Cupcakes and frosting are not overly sweet, they were just right and together tasted like a Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwich. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I made a double batch of these and took them to work, and they loved them! You must like peanut butter to enjoy these, the frosting definitely has a strong peanut butter taste. I couldn't find any strawberry extract at my grocery store, so I used raspberry instead. I stuck with the raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used splenda and sugar free blueberry jam. I also doubled the jam and mixed it with the batter. The cupcakes turned out blue. I'm giving it 3 stars because the icing was disgusting. I ended up eating the cupcakes plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States