Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I'm not sure if I made this dessert correctly, but never having it before I found it delicious and fascinating. I was a little scared of the multiple textures at first, but was able to salvage a good half of my creation to serve. I made it without super fine sugar because I didn't have any, which may have contributed to it being ultra-sweet. I'd love to try this made by someone who does it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Though Pavlova is not meant to be individual sizes, my son (he's a chef) used this recipe at Thanksgiving and made individual sizes with whipped cream, fresh blueberries, blackberries and raspberries and a dash of raspberry sauce drizzled on top (wish I had a picture to share). Huge hit and so light after such a big meal. By the way, New Zealand is the real originator of this dessert, no matter what the other countries claim! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Our pavlova needed to quickly replace a Christmas day pavlova that was accidentally destroyed. We hopped online to find directions that used only ingredients we had around the house. This one fit the bill. Our first attempt at the humble pavlova (a New Zealand tradition), it turned out really well and was delicious. With helpful suggestions from friends, the key to the pavlova is adding the sugar in bit by bit, not disturbing it once it is in the oven and of course decorating it later with fresh whipped cream, strawberries and kiwifruit. Thanks for saving Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is delicious! I did have to try 3 times to make it work. I finally figured out what I was doing wrong. First make sure to let the eggs come to room temp. after separating the yolks. Second do not use a plastic mixing bowl, the plastic is oily and it causes issues with the eggs. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I'm a kiwi (a new zealander) and i know good pavlova when i taste it,and this is good! Another ways to top it is carmel sauce and fresh strawberry's.this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fashionablah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
wow. DELICIOUS!!! i was making a project 4 nz, so when i saw the recipe, i decided it would be good 2 try with the family. then, my teacher told us we could bring food.. :D i did my project 2day, & every1 rated this recipe A+!!!!!!! now my friends wnat it 4 their b-day cake xD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I love this stuff !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I thought the meringue would be crispy but it had the texture of a marshmallow on the inside. I followed directions exactly. It cracked around th edges and didnt look so nice, but the guests liked it. To make superfine sugar - put regular white sugar in your food processor or blender for 1 - 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
As a kiwi-phile just back from New Zealand I would say that this recipe is excellent. You can grind normal white sugar in a coffee grinder, set at espresso (fine) to produce the fine castor sugar for the recipe. I make mine in a pie plate covered in parchment paper. The consistency is somewhere between angel food cake and cotton candy. I use fat free cool whip on top with fruit. A beautiful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Made this today for the first time and followed all the instructions and also took note of some tips in here from other reviews like: "don't use a plastic bowl" and " let the eggs come to room temperature before messing with them. It came out perfect! I have to make 2 more tomorrow. This one was a tester.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States