Paul's Southern California BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
We sure liked it at our house - just enough blend of the sweet and the spicy for our tastes. The tangy little kick is a welcome surprise - and balances the brown sugar well. And he's not kidding about the timing - the longer it cooks, the thicker it gets. If you're using electric instead of gas, turn it off around 5 minutes early. Can't wait to try it on ribs. Well done, Paul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Just enough sweet with a little zip. Excellent for pulled pork bbq sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
EXCELLENT!!!! We looooved this recipe! Thanks so much for submitting this!! I made bbq chicken legs with this sauce. Did it on the oven. Was fantastic. It stuck well to the chicken. Im on a low sugar diet so what I did was make homemade low sugar ketchup using splenda. Then I added a cup of Splenda instead of brown sugar. It was still the tastest bbq sauce ever! Im making it again tonite and doing it with ribs this time. I cant wait! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This is almost the same as the rib sauce that this great little BBQ place uses over in NE Portland, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
absolutely excellent!!! i made pulled pork and cooked it in this receipe then i removed the sauce and let it thicken just fantstic you should bottle this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
At first I was disappointed at the very strong vinegar flavor, however, I added worcestershire, liquid smoke and garlic, marinated a chuck roast overnight and then cooked it in a crockpot for 10 hours. It made one heck of a shredded beef sandwich on a Brown and Serve roll. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Excellent recipe. Goes well on nearly everything. I am not a fan of bottled bbq sauce so I looked for an alternative and this more than met my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Albans, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Family voted 5 stars for this BBQ. DH wants to add more cayenne pepper and chili powder next time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
WOW! This is the best. Perfect combination of tang, sweet, spice, etc... We love vinegar, so this is THE sauce in our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideorder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was really great! I followed the recipe exactly and served it on steak. Next time I will try chicken or something different, but it definitely compliments steak perfectly. It was a little bit spicier than I'd imagined it would be. That was good for me because I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States