Paul's Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! It is much more like pumpkin cake then bars, but it's extremely moist. And I really liked the powdered sugar frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
These bars are awesome! Took them into work and they were gone in no time. One of my coworkers asked when I would be making them again. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. Perfect the way they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I followed the exact recipe except I put it in a 13x9 pan accidentally. It was light, fluffy and the spice did not overwhelm the pumpkin flavor. The icing is yummy and just the right amount. I am sure all the changes are good too but this recipe is great just like it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't want cake-like pumpkin bars so I made the following changes based on previous reviews: 3 eggs, 3/4 white sugar, 3/4 light brown sugar, 1 cup applesauce, 30 oz can Libby's pumpkin pie puree, 2 cups flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 3 tsps cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp salt. 8 oz cream cheese package, 1/2 stick butter, powdered sugar, vanilla. Poured in 9X13 metal cake pan and baked for 31 mins at 350. Worked like a dream -- the bars held up nicely and I kept them in the freezer to cool before adding the frosting. This recipe was very simple and I think the changes really hit the spot for those who want more of a "bar" than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Vinluan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I baked a cake using this recipe. Very good! I made a little changes: cut the sugar in 11/2:cup, with half brown sugar. I also added a teaspoon pumpkin spice since my husband like rich flavor. The cake is very moist and soft. Really good! Next time I use this recipe again, I will put parchment paper around the baking pan so the edges wil keep as soft as the center. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made it exactly as written and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The flavor of these is amazing. Per another reviewer I reduced sugar to just one cup and only used ½ cup of applesauce + ½ cup oil. Tasted fabulous. The only issue was baking time. I used a smaller pan (9x11) and baked for 30 minutes. Toothpick in center came out clean but when they cooled the center was mushy. I solved by microwaving a cut piece (even frosted!) for about 90 seconds. Yum! Just wish I'd baked longer in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaT
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made these last night and they were delicious! I did add in addion to the cinnamon, a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and a teaspoon of ground clove. The frosting is what makes it so good, I added walnuts on top as well....next time I make them, I may add raisins. It makes lot of bars.... enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
These were great. I know it's a bit annoying, but after reading the reviews I adjusted as well. This what I did: I decreased the eggs to 3, added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, and upped the pumpkin to 30oz. I also had to change the frosting recipe because I didn't have confectioners sugar. I did 8oz cream cheese, 1 stick of real butter, 1 tsp of REAL vanilla (2 tsp of extract) 3 cups of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States