Paula's Polenta with Mushroom Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I liked the simplicity of this meal. The polenta may be used as appetizers. Broiling the polenta until browned gave it an oily flavor which was similar to fried tortilla chips. Baking lightly gave a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This recipe worked great when I doubled it to make 8 servings. I also used some Shittake mushrooms which brought a rich flavor to the sauce. Another tip, it was difficult to transfer the cut polenta from the wax paper since I accidentally cut through the wax paper when I was slicing the squares. The waxpaper stuck to the polenta. So I just lifted it with teh wax paper and flipped it over when I put it on the baking sheet and then peeled off the wax paper. This worked well for me. This is a savory recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
this is quick and easy. the mushroom sauce ing adds just the right touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
had trouble getting out the lumps in the polenta...added a little bit of soy butter for a creamier mushroom sauce. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This was ok. I would not make it again, but my mom enjoyed it, so that is why I gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Now I remember why I hate making polenta. And this polenta was very boring. The mushrooms were okay, perhaps a little dry for serving over polenta. I will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
So great. My polenta hating husband even loved it, plus it was easy and fast!! I did make some minor changes...I used green onions instead of white ones, sprinkled each polenta blob with balsamic vinegar and parmesan cheese and broiled for 6 minutes...but thats all. Really devine, wished I had made more. Will add to rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
The polenta is not very tasty like in some restaurants when I have had it. But the mushrooms or whatever you put on top will make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Although my husband really liked this, I did not. I had an aborted attempt on the Polenta and had to find another recipe in a cookbook to make it come out right. It also got stuck to the wax paper. The mushrooms were a bit bland. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I wanted to like this, I really did. But the polenta was really bland. The topping was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States