Paula's Polenta with Mushroom Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I was surprised someone said the polenta was bland - we found it incredibly peppery. Once I tried that, I cut waaay back on the basil for the vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Overall a good recipe and for sure a do again. I used a sifter to add the cornmeal to the water so that it would not lump, added about 1/2 cup parmesian and some fresh basil to the polenta before I spread it. The mushroom topping was great as is, but next time I may add 1 tbs of butter or splash of white wine right at the end to make it more of a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This came out pretty good but I did make a few changes of my own. I sauteed the mushrooms, onions,garlic and added a couple slashes of white wine and some fresh spinach at the end. When the spinach wilted i topped the fried polenta. I enjoyed this and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I agree - the recipe as written is bland. I added some feta cheese which helped but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
THE MUSHROOM TOPPING WAS BLAND, NOT KEEPING THIS ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I can't rate this because I changed way too much from the recipe. Like others who've rated the recipe, I find polenta to be very bland. So while cooking it for this recipe, I added to the water-cornmeal mixture: salt, pepper, minced garlic, ground cumin, whole cumin seeds that I'd toasted in a pan, chile powder, and onion powder. In addition to the mushroom topping in this recipe, I also had a pico de gallo-style topping, and a garlic onion tomato sauce topping. I made a pile of lightly-steamed spinach in the center of each plate, placed several polenta slices on the spinach and garnished them only with a little coarse pepper and salt, and some sprigs of cilantro. Then I made small piles of each type of topping in an array around the polenta so that toppings could be added as prefered by the consumer. This went over really well and got rave reviews - the first time we've had polenta and liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was good, but not outstanding, and also a fair of work. It also doesn't hold well. If I ever make it again, I'd probably add some parmesan to the polenta. I think that would help fight the blandness a lot of us seem to be noticing. I do like the idea of using the polenta shapes almost as a cracker, and may try some other toppings in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I wanted to like this, I really did. But the polenta was really bland. The topping was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Although my husband really liked this, I did not. I had an aborted attempt on the Polenta and had to find another recipe in a cookbook to make it come out right. It also got stuck to the wax paper. The mushrooms were a bit bland. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
The polenta is not very tasty like in some restaurants when I have had it. But the mushrooms or whatever you put on top will make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States