Patty's Tofu Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but I mixed it all together in my food processor. Turned out sticky so I just took a large spoonful and dropped in the preheated pan, then flattened and shaped a bit with a spatula and they turned out great. I think a little salt and pepper might have been an improvement though, so will add some next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I can't believe how yummy this was! I added some chicken bullion, doubled the amount of egg, and used curry powder instead of paste, then baked at 175 degrees C for thirty minutes. I had this as an open-faced sandwich with Roasted Tomatoes with Garlic, also from this site. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark Twenhafel
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Thanks to pattyward555 for getting me started with homemade tofu burgers. This is my first attempt. I followed the advice to drain the tofu: the technique I used was to crumble both packages of firm tofu into a colander, set the colander in a bowl to catch the drainage, press another bowl into the tofu that was sitting in the colander, and set a gallon water bottle on the bowl to exert weight onto the tofu. Left it in the 'fridge overnight and it was quite dry in the morning. Besides the recipe ingredients, I added a finely-diced carrot and half bell pepper. Finely-diced cauliflower or broccoli would be good, too. Used cumin seeds instead of ground cumin; and about 4 T. cumin paste instead of one. For the binder, I started with 3 eggs instead of the 2 eggs called for and pan-fried 4 tofu patties. Was still crumbly, so I added 2 more eggs, for 5 total. This seemed to improve the cohesiveness of the cooked burgers. Had to use a spatula to transfer the patties to the frying pan, as the egg doesn't bind the patty together until it's cooked. (But, you knew that. :-) My total yield was 14-15 patties. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were my first tofu burgers ever and they came out amazing! I drained the tofu well before hand and had no issues with crumbliness! Only thing I'd add next time is a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Really good. I'm vegetarian but my family isn't. I made one for me and instantly everyone wanted to try. I ended up making enough for the whole family. My friends came over and they absolutely loved them. It's a little bland so I added just a little bit of salt and pepper. Also, drain the tofu. It helps. It's still a bit crumbly but not nearly as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Not what I expected - crumbly and mushy. Won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Just a suggestion to all those cooks out there. To get this recipe where your patties wont fall apart. Drain the tofu before you get cooking. This is what I do. I take the block of tofu out and place it on a plate. I take a second plate on place it on top of the block of tofu. Then get a can of bean or corn or whatever is handy that had some weight, and place that on top of the second plate. Wait for 20-25 min, and dump the water. Hope this helps I know when I first cooked with tofu I had to research and research. This was yummy by the way, we like spicy food so I added a jalapeno and it came delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlitas_way

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
it was very good, however, even with using an egg my burgers fell apart and it was more like a sloppy joe. big mess to clean up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coraskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
These were great! I didn't have red curry paste so I used curry powder. I used instant oats and didn't have any problem with them crumbling. I did also add some red chile paste and some salt. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States