Patty's Tofu Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a good recipe, and I'll give it 5 stars because we like it, it's healthy, and I'll make it again. I did have to make changes though- I didn't have red curry powder, so I used curry powder plus some red chile paste instead. I added extra garlic, garlic powder and onion powder, and some black pepper. i think this is a bit bland in flavor, but with additional seasonings, it's a great recipe. And it sure is a lot healthier than the tofu burgers that are at the store. I may add some shredded carrot to this next time, I think it would work out pretty well. Oh- and VERY important-- you MUST drain your tofu ahead of time. I wrap it up in a clean kitchen towel, then place it between two plates, and put something heavy on top. Let it sit for 25-20 minutes, to squeeze that water out. Also... make sure you use QUICK COOK oats--- not the 5 minute cook oats. The quick cook (i.e. cooks in 1 minute), has no problem in getting the batter to stick together. That being said, this is a nice recipe for healthy homemade tofu burgers... just add extra spices and try some different things. We added a bit of hot sauce, when eating, and it tasted great that way! Another one to try, is a little bit of cheese (maybe some pepper jack?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were my first tofu burgers ever and they came out amazing! I drained the tofu well before hand and had no issues with crumbliness! Only thing I'd add next time is a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
My fav!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyward555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
i like this it's easy to make and you can add as much as you like of spices and veggies i also mince carrot in the mix .Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Delicious! I substituted the oats crushed 'Nature Valley' Granola bars. It gave it a sweet inviting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
These were great! I didn't have red curry paste so I used curry powder. I used instant oats and didn't have any problem with them crumbling. I did also add some red chile paste and some salt. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coraskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Just a suggestion to all those cooks out there. To get this recipe where your patties wont fall apart. Drain the tofu before you get cooking. This is what I do. I take the block of tofu out and place it on a plate. I take a second plate on place it on top of the block of tofu. Then get a can of bean or corn or whatever is handy that had some weight, and place that on top of the second plate. Wait for 20-25 min, and dump the water. Hope this helps I know when I first cooked with tofu I had to research and research. This was yummy by the way, we like spicy food so I added a jalapeno and it came delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlitas_way

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark Twenhafel
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Thanks to pattyward555 for getting me started with homemade tofu burgers. This is my first attempt. I followed the advice to drain the tofu: the technique I used was to crumble both packages of firm tofu into a colander, set the colander in a bowl to catch the drainage, press another bowl into the tofu that was sitting in the colander, and set a gallon water bottle on the bowl to exert weight onto the tofu. Left it in the 'fridge overnight and it was quite dry in the morning. Besides the recipe ingredients, I added a finely-diced carrot and half bell pepper. Finely-diced cauliflower or broccoli would be good, too. Used cumin seeds instead of ground cumin; and about 4 T. cumin paste instead of one. For the binder, I started with 3 eggs instead of the 2 eggs called for and pan-fried 4 tofu patties. Was still crumbly, so I added 2 more eggs, for 5 total. This seemed to improve the cohesiveness of the cooked burgers. Had to use a spatula to transfer the patties to the frying pan, as the egg doesn't bind the patty together until it's cooked. (But, you knew that. :-) My total yield was 14-15 patties. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I can't believe how yummy this was! I added some chicken bullion, doubled the amount of egg, and used curry powder instead of paste, then baked at 175 degrees C for thirty minutes. I had this as an open-faced sandwich with Roasted Tomatoes with Garlic, also from this site. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States