Patty's Mom's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is such a simple and tasty recipe. Blending the black beans makes it distinctive. Without that I think it would be just another black bean soup. I used a hand blender in the pot and was done in minutes. I didn't have a hambone so I used beef stock concentrate and diced ham--was wonderful this way too. An extremely easy and economical soup. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great taste- the sherry really works. Great for leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We had this for the second time last night and my husband and kids could not rant and rave enough. My husband has been to culinary school and is hard to impress. I used stock and meat that I froze after our July 4th ham and canned beans. It was still so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This soup is amazing IF it's served with a dollop of fresh home-made salsa on the top of it. The combination of the comforting gloopy warmth of the soup contrasting with the fresh crunchy zing of the salsa make it one of my favourite dishes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Perfect. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelburne, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I first made Patty's BB soup about a year ago, but didn't think to post a review. However, I was preparing to e-mail this recipe to my daughter and was shocked to see it only had 2 reviews! This soup was so much yummier than other Black Bean soups I tried out. First of all, to those that feel it takes to long for the bean prepartion.....really, one can skip the overnight soak. That mostly helps as far as keeping you quite so "windy" after eating. The sherry is a most! Do not skip it or any other sherry you may have on hand. I slow cook mine for the better part of a day because we like our soup rather thick. Oh, and one more thing! I once tried dipping this soup over rice, ala`Red Beans & Rice. Yeah! Majorially yummy! A side of corn bread muffins and it's all about heaven. Thanks Patty's Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERBUFF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent black bean soup. I'll be using this recipe from now on. I was in a hurry, so I used three large cans of black beans, which I drained and rinsed. Added a carton of chicken broth and tossed everything else into the mix. Only other change I made was to add garlic and a teeny bit of cilantro. Thanks, Patty's Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Wonderful. I only used half the amount of Sherry and ended it in a blender to make it creamy. Very good. Yes its time consuming to make but its worth it. I even ate some for breakfast the next morning. I fried a tortilla, poured some of the soup on top and then placed two fried eggs on top of that with some cheese, tomatos and red onion. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I added cumin and oregano. Awesome stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I personalized this one a bit. Used black and white beans, 1 can of each, used 6 cups water, 2 cups chicken broth, no sherry, added cumin and chili powder and also added green peppers. SOOOO yummy! And easy! I let it cook for about 3 hours, fished out the ham, pureed it in the pot with a hand mixer, ripped off the good pieces of ham and threw them back in and done! A delicious soup! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicoleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States