Patty's Mom's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Perfect. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelburne, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I personalized this one a bit. Used black and white beans, 1 can of each, used 6 cups water, 2 cups chicken broth, no sherry, added cumin and chili powder and also added green peppers. SOOOO yummy! And easy! I let it cook for about 3 hours, fished out the ham, pureed it in the pot with a hand mixer, ripped off the good pieces of ham and threw them back in and done! A delicious soup! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicoleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I have a similar recipe, however, I substitute some of the water with beef broth or bouillon cubes for a tastier and stronger base. I eliminate the sherry and still have excellent results. I also puree the beans, but leave some whole in the soup. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Out of three homemade soups I offered at our christmas open house this was the least favorite. The soup was good, I like the sherry, but it couldn't compete with salmon chowder and tortilla soup. Also the sherry flavor fades adn I kept adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Villenave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I like black beans in other recipes, but I did not like the flavor of this soup at all. It simply tasted like regular bean soup.....which I do not like. My husband said that it was just ok. I think I will try to freeze the rest of the pot and take it to my Dad, who loves bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I added cumin and oregano. Awesome stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great taste- the sherry really works. Great for leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This soup is amazing IF it's served with a dollop of fresh home-made salsa on the top of it. The combination of the comforting gloopy warmth of the soup contrasting with the fresh crunchy zing of the salsa make it one of my favourite dishes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Wonderful. I only used half the amount of Sherry and ended it in a blender to make it creamy. Very good. Yes its time consuming to make but its worth it. I even ate some for breakfast the next morning. I fried a tortilla, poured some of the soup on top and then placed two fried eggs on top of that with some cheese, tomatos and red onion. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is such a simple and tasty recipe. Blending the black beans makes it distinctive. Without that I think it would be just another black bean soup. I used a hand blender in the pot and was done in minutes. I didn't have a hambone so I used beef stock concentrate and diced ham--was wonderful this way too. An extremely easy and economical soup. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States