Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
in our family we add even ammounts of carrots and turnip. The carrots add a bit of sweetness. This is a must for all of our holiday dinners. It has been in our family forever. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I have to admit I was a little leary about mashed turnips ... but they are actually very good. I think next time I will cut back on the liquid a little. They turned out a little too wet ~ so maybe a half of a cup instead. Otherwise they are a great addition to our recipe box. Perfect for a Atkin's friendly meal!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Our family's first turnip, a big Koran turnip, I mashed with one red potato and it came out great. Mashed potatoes with slight textural changes. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Glad I found this...I am trying to cut back on potatoes one of my favs, so I tried the mashed turnips and they were just as good as mashed potatoes. I did add a bit of bacon grease in the water, and some margarine while they cooked. They did seem to drain "water" after I mashed them but I just stirred them up again. Very good recipe and will be making it lots more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
the milk ended up making this too runny, but it had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASSIVEMO1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
A good, basic recipe. I left out the milk and it was still a bit watery. Easy, one pot dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Not very good...hard to blend and the flavor of turnip gets lost w/ the milk. Sorry, will not make again. But it was worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Cut way back on the milk - or, better yet, stir in heavy cream a little at a time - to avoid ending up with nasty watery turnips. I also like turnips and cauliflower mashed together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Would use less milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I just started using turnips as mashed instead of potatoes. So delish, however, omit the milk and add a little garlic. I eat them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States