Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These are so easy. I usually add a little extra white wine, some more tomatoes, and extra garlic for even more flavor. You must have some good crusty bread to dip in the sauce!! I've also served this over pasta, which is good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
OH MY. This is one of the best things I have ever made. I love trying out new ideas for dinner, and normally (maybe because I'm in the Midwest!) I don't do too many recipes with seafood. My husband and I love mussels however, and noticed they were on sale in our local deli today. ($3.69 for 2.5lbs!) This dish sounded like what I was looking for, because we love the buttery/wine type sauce in these types of dishes. I'm always worried I'm not adding enough flavor to my dishes, but this turned out absolutely delicious and full of flavor. I modified the following: 1 1/2 cups chardonnay, 3-4 T butter, half a sliced white onion instead of green onions, nixed the tomatoes, added a chicken bullion cube, forgot the salt and pepper (which was fine, maybe because of the bullion). It was SO flavorful. I had some homemade baguette-type bread and sliced up 4 small pieces each, which I placed around the edges of our plates - it was amazing to sop up the sauce with the bread. I wasn't sure how high the burner was supposed to be while cooking the mussels, so I left it about medium heat and 10 minutes was perfect. This is a definite keeper and I can't WAIT to make it for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
fast. cheap. easy. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Hadde nok i litt for mye hvitvin men elleres var den god, men ikke noe mer. Sikkert godt med litt fløte i også
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
The best way to eat mussels hands down..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
realy good and realy easy sadly the bag of mussles i got were realy sandy but they were so tasty i did not care!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela's Cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent! The whole family loved it. Served it with crusty French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made these last night for the first time (first time ever cooking mussels) and they were UNREAL!! I took some suggestions from others and added the tomatoes, parsley and green onion later(when I added the mussels) Make sure to double the sauce, I did and there was lots for dipping some good crusty italian loaf in. I bought my mussels from a seafood shop and they were already de-bearded and they said that they already clean them so I didn't have to soak them. This was really easy and so DELICIOUS!!! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this for my husband for Father's Day! I eyed the ingredients, left out the parsely, over poured the white wine and served it with a crusty bread with garlic cloves baked into it. It was still amazing!!!!!!! Truely like I was in Italy or France.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
The basic ingredients were quite good, although it needed something more. I ended up following some of the other reviewers in adding more garlic and some chicken broth (2/3 of can) to add more sauce. I also added an extra tablespoon of butter to compensate for the additional chicken broth. To add that extra "taste," I added two cans of chopped clam in clam juice (make sure to use to the clam juice). Adding extra parsley also helps to make it spicier. For those who like eating it with linguini, the twist is to add a few drops of lemon/lime into the sauce, and you'll see the difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States