Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good, better than one my favorite restaurants. I did substitute the tomatoes with restaurant style salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good recipe, but the cook time was misleading. The actual cook time is 25 min, prep time 10-15, and you have to give yourself time for the mussels to rinse in the water. Like other reviewers, I doubled the sauce, which was excellent. The mussels themselves didn't absorb any of the sauce, so unless you get a good scoop of sauce they were bland. I'm not a great cook, so it could've been my techique. We served the dish over polenta and would definately do that again. We had leftover sauce and will use that with chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
We love mussels and I usually make them with coconut milk and Thai red chili but decided to try something new. I don't cook with wine so I used clam juice and the juice of 1/2 a large lemon. Wonderful this way - it had the slight tartness you'd get from white wine. I also used some canned chopped tomatoes which I drained first. I also added my parsley later and tossed some on top as a garnish. BUT either my husband and I are absolute pigs or this recipe doesn't feed 6 unless you serve it as a sauce over pasta. I'd say this serves 3-4 mussel lovers as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We enjoy mussels at a couple of restaurants but we used this recipe for our first attempt at making them ourselves. I obsessed over cleaning them which took a while. The only changes we made to the broth were to add more wine (b/c we had more like 60 than 50 mussels), more garlic, and about 1/4 c of tomato sauce to make it more tomatoey. It was really great, as good if not better than the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
We liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Best mussels i've ever had.. let alone made myself. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Delicious! It was my first time making mussels at home, and now that I know how easy it is it won't be the last! I made this with live New Zealand Green-Tipped Mussels, and though it took a bit longer to cook, they were absolutely delicious. I was concerned about how little moisture was in the bottom of the pot, so I ended up adding about an extra cup of water (I made 7 pounds of mussels for a dinner party), but it ended up being completely unnecessary - there was a ton of liquid. Enjoyed by all with some crusty basguette chunks and a green salad. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
man this was super good. I followed the directions of adding the tomatoes, green onions and parsley later on and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
excellent…added more garlic, used 2pds of mussels and chardonnay wine and ciabitta bread..hubby loved it….Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Cooked as written the first time but it seemed to e missing something. Second time I changed it up a bit. Added more garlic and a cup of a good white wine. More tomatoes and some pearl onions. Perfect and the sauce is amazing with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States