Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Beautiful!! I added white onion and cooked with the garlic. Other than that I did everything else the same! Ate the mussles with capalini and crusty bread. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was absolutely amazing and better than the mussels at my favorite restaurant!! I only made some slight variations in the recipe based on what others had recommended: 8 cloves of minced garlic, 3 tbsp butter, 1 1/2c white wine (I used a good chardonnay), and about half a pint of chopped cherry tomatoes instead of the roma tomatoes. I also followed the instructions from another review and added the parsley (I used fresh italian parsley) and onions the last five minutes of cooking. I also think that using fresh mussels is key...and as others have mentioned, be sure to have some good bread because the sauce is amazing!! I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissac21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I live in a small midwestern town where one can never buy mussels. Yesterday I was amazed to find some in a local supermarket and immediately thought back to my 10th anniversary trip to Paris where I had mussels for dinner every night. Came to allrecipes to see how I could replicate that wonderful memory and found this recipe. It was fabulous! I did saute shallots rather than use the green onions. Also added more wine and let it reduce down before adding mussels. Served with sliced baguette to mop up the sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! So easy! I prepared mussels for the first time using this recipe! I added more garlic and butter, but kept everything else the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alanson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
By far the best preparation for mussels that I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very good recipe. I followed the directions on my first dish, but with the 2nd I had to make several revisions. I doubled the sauce, I added more chopped garlic, cooked it in my favorite chardonnay, (use your favorite white wine) and cooked it to a reduction, (about 15 mins on high) I put in the chopped tomatos and cooked it for 4-5 mins before adding in the mussels and covering the pot with a lid, 5 mins into the mussels cooking I threw in the green onions and parsley, stirred it around and covered it for an additional 5 mins before it was done. I found that if you added the green onions, parsley and tomato too soon like the recipe calls for, you lose the flavor of all. In adding the veggies close to serving it keeps all of the natural flavors in. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tippy

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
i Made this last might. added more garlic and touch more wine. VERY good. my husband we could have just sopped up the liguid with the bread as so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Delicious! I added a bit more garlic, otherwise wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
FANTASTIC! I loved this recipe, and the mussels were wonderful. Then only changes I made was no tomatoes and substituted chicken broth for white wine. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was pretty good, but it was missing something. After we had them on our plates and had tasted them, I cut up a lemon and added that. That made them better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States