Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was amazing!!!I used canned diced tomatoes, seasoned about 8 cloves of garlic and 2 shallots. Gave a really good flavor. Everyone loved it. I tried it again with linguine, and the sauce was a little to thin....i think i will keep serving as an appetizer instead of trying to make it a meal. Really good with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Any time I try a recipe, I ALWAYS follow to a "T" before changing anything. The first time through, it ended up missing the variance of flavors I knew existed in the dish. So the second time in I followed another reviewer's advice. It's worth mentioning again. First I doubled the sauce, I also added an extra clove of garlic. Next, since I was doubling, I added about a 1/4 cup of chicken stock. If you don't double, add an 1/8 cup. I let the garlic, stock, wine, and butter cook to a reduction on high for about 10-15 minutes. After that, I reduced the heat a little and added the tomatoes. A word on the tomatoes here, a) don't chop them too small or they will cook to nothing, b) do NOT strain the juices and seeds. Throw it all in there with the reduction. After the tomatoes have cooked with the mix for about 3-5 minutes, I added the mussels, cover the pot with a lid and toss the mix every minute or so. Don't shake the pot too hard or your crack shells. Five minutes in to cooking the mussels, I added the onion. Lid back on, tossing continues. Two to three minutes later, throw in the parsley and salt and pepper to taste. Lid back on for the final minutes (10 minutes total for the mussels). Excellent recipe!! Broth/sauce was all but inhaled. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjwinc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Definitely worthy of a five star rating. Outstanding flavor and an breeze to make. I don't know what else you could ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
perfect! i added some red pepper flakes for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
wonderful! mixed in some spaghetti pasta with the mussels & sauce to serve. Delicious & Easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I served this with spaghetti. It was awesome! I did use more garlic and onions because we like garlic and onions in my house. I also put in some Italian seasoning. My mussels were frozen, but I thawed them before cooking. Thanks a lot Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mister Fay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Awesome...This was a restaurant quality meal, no question about it. My wife loved it. Thanks for sharing. Only change for me was adding about 1/2 - 3/4 can of chicken broth and another tbsp of butter...I paired this linguine noddles and Garlic Cheese Biscuits from this site....all this top off with a beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Best mussels we ever had! This was the first time I made mussels and was a little nervous. They ended up dazzling us and we both agreed they were better than any restaurant's. So, I had to do a little research, but here's what I learned (after I had to throw away about 25% of the mussels I bought). As a rookie, I didn't realize you have to 'air' out the mussels- as in, keep them cold but make sure they get air. I looked up how to debeard them (you can find it on this site). As for the recipe itself, sooooo good! I would add a few extra tomatoes and don't skip the 'salt to taste' step (I forgot and it was better with a little bit of salt). Serve with the crustiest bread you can find and drink the wine as you cook :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Beautiful!! I added white onion and cooked with the garlic. Other than that I did everything else the same! Ate the mussles with capalini and crusty bread. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was absolutely amazing and better than the mussels at my favorite restaurant!! I only made some slight variations in the recipe based on what others had recommended: 8 cloves of minced garlic, 3 tbsp butter, 1 1/2c white wine (I used a good chardonnay), and about half a pint of chopped cherry tomatoes instead of the roma tomatoes. I also followed the instructions from another review and added the parsley (I used fresh italian parsley) and onions the last five minutes of cooking. I also think that using fresh mussels is key...and as others have mentioned, be sure to have some good bread because the sauce is amazing!! I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissac21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States