Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I served this with spaghetti. It was awesome! I did use more garlic and onions because we like garlic and onions in my house. I also put in some Italian seasoning. My mussels were frozen, but I thawed them before cooking. Thanks a lot Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mister Fay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Awesome...This was a restaurant quality meal, no question about it. My wife loved it. Thanks for sharing. Only change for me was adding about 1/2 - 3/4 can of chicken broth and another tbsp of butter...I paired this linguine noddles and Garlic Cheese Biscuits from this site....all this top off with a beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Best mussels we ever had! This was the first time I made mussels and was a little nervous. They ended up dazzling us and we both agreed they were better than any restaurant's. So, I had to do a little research, but here's what I learned (after I had to throw away about 25% of the mussels I bought). As a rookie, I didn't realize you have to 'air' out the mussels- as in, keep them cold but make sure they get air. I looked up how to debeard them (you can find it on this site). As for the recipe itself, sooooo good! I would add a few extra tomatoes and don't skip the 'salt to taste' step (I forgot and it was better with a little bit of salt). Serve with the crustiest bread you can find and drink the wine as you cook :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Beautiful!! I added white onion and cooked with the garlic. Other than that I did everything else the same! Ate the mussles with capalini and crusty bread. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was absolutely amazing and better than the mussels at my favorite restaurant!! I only made some slight variations in the recipe based on what others had recommended: 8 cloves of minced garlic, 3 tbsp butter, 1 1/2c white wine (I used a good chardonnay), and about half a pint of chopped cherry tomatoes instead of the roma tomatoes. I also followed the instructions from another review and added the parsley (I used fresh italian parsley) and onions the last five minutes of cooking. I also think that using fresh mussels is key...and as others have mentioned, be sure to have some good bread because the sauce is amazing!! I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissac21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I live in a small midwestern town where one can never buy mussels. Yesterday I was amazed to find some in a local supermarket and immediately thought back to my 10th anniversary trip to Paris where I had mussels for dinner every night. Came to allrecipes to see how I could replicate that wonderful memory and found this recipe. It was fabulous! I did saute shallots rather than use the green onions. Also added more wine and let it reduce down before adding mussels. Served with sliced baguette to mop up the sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! So easy! I prepared mussels for the first time using this recipe! I added more garlic and butter, but kept everything else the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alanson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
By far the best preparation for mussels that I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very good recipe. I followed the directions on my first dish, but with the 2nd I had to make several revisions. I doubled the sauce, I added more chopped garlic, cooked it in my favorite chardonnay, (use your favorite white wine) and cooked it to a reduction, (about 15 mins on high) I put in the chopped tomatos and cooked it for 4-5 mins before adding in the mussels and covering the pot with a lid, 5 mins into the mussels cooking I threw in the green onions and parsley, stirred it around and covered it for an additional 5 mins before it was done. I found that if you added the green onions, parsley and tomato too soon like the recipe calls for, you lose the flavor of all. In adding the veggies close to serving it keeps all of the natural flavors in. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tippy

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
i Made this last might. added more garlic and touch more wine. VERY good. my husband we could have just sopped up the liguid with the bread as so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States