Pat's Mushroom Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
i HAVE to give this five stars...it's MY recipe! however, reading all the reviews (thank you)' i felt compelled to write and say "yes, thirty minutes IS too long!" my mom-in-law got confused on the cooking time! 15 minutes is plenty. you can also add a little dry wine (red or white)instead of balsamic vinegar, and throw in a chopped shallot or two just for fun. thank you for all the wonderful reviews and ratings! good eating! -pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Since we eat sauteed mushrooms frequently, both in restaurants and those I prepare at home, maybe that explains why we didn't think these were anything special. I usually saute mine in butter, Worcestershire sauce, Lawry's seasoning salt and pepper--so I thought the balsamic vinegar and oregano used in this recipe would give them a different flavor twist. In the final analysis, however, hubby and I both agree that these were just....mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Me and my wife ate an entire batch!!! I did substitute the oregano for thyme and I cut down the cook time by about 10 minutes finally I deglazed the pan with red wine when the shrooms were done cooking. This is a very tasty recipe and goes great with steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
UNREAL! The balsamic vinegar was the PERFECT touch. I just added a little salt. This is going to become a weekly dish for me. Just an update: this HAS become a weekly dish for me. I even made it for my boyfriend a couple of times. Definitely a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
After so many years of great reviews, I felt like commenting again on this recipe - since it is, after all mine. I've spent a lot of time refining this recipe, and thought I'd share my thoughts on the subject. These days, I start with an 8 oz. package of mushrooms - 1 pound was another clerical error by my mother-in-law - it was always 8 ounces. I start with medium-high heat, and just the butter and mushrooms. Once the 'shrooms start to give up their moisture, I lower the temp to medium andI add crushed garlic and sea salt - two cloves usually. I try not to add the balsamic vinegar too soon, so it doesn't get scorchy and lose its punch. This only takes around 10 mins or so. After I add the vinegar, I kick the heat all the way to high for a couple of minutes. This quickly reduces the balsamic/butter mix without overcooking the shrooms and killing their flavor. The mushrooms shouldn't spend more than 10 -12 minutes on average. Glad everyone has enjoyed the recipe all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canis Canon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
These are sooo good. I was definately apprehensive about the vinegar, but curiousity got the best of me and they are awesome. I have made them twice, the first time with balsamic, and the second time I was out so I tried rice wine vinegar, and believe me.. balsamic makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Awesome! I was looking for a different mushroom saute to go with my steak and i found it. I used regular mushrooms and garlic powder instead of crushed garlic. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
These were well received by my crew. I'm not a big mushroom person, so I skipped on this one, but everyone ate this with smiles. Thanks Lanni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I have been wanting a recipe and this is it!! I added some fresh parsley and some salt and pepper. They were yummy with my steak and grilled onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This recipe didn't come out tasting like much. It almost seemed like 1/2 an hour was too long to be cooking the mushrooms, causing them to lose the taste of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States