Pat's Mushroom Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
i HAVE to give this five stars...it's MY recipe! however, reading all the reviews (thank you)' i felt compelled to write and say "yes, thirty minutes IS too long!" my mom-in-law got confused on the cooking time! 15 minutes is plenty. you can also add a little dry wine (red or white)instead of balsamic vinegar, and throw in a chopped shallot or two just for fun. thank you for all the wonderful reviews and ratings! good eating! -pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Since we eat sauteed mushrooms frequently, both in restaurants and those I prepare at home, maybe that explains why we didn't think these were anything special. I usually saute mine in butter, Worcestershire sauce, Lawry's seasoning salt and pepper--so I thought the balsamic vinegar and oregano used in this recipe would give them a different flavor twist. In the final analysis, however, hubby and I both agree that these were just....mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Me and my wife ate an entire batch!!! I did substitute the oregano for thyme and I cut down the cook time by about 10 minutes finally I deglazed the pan with red wine when the shrooms were done cooking. This is a very tasty recipe and goes great with steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
UNREAL! The balsamic vinegar was the PERFECT touch. I just added a little salt. This is going to become a weekly dish for me. Just an update: this HAS become a weekly dish for me. I even made it for my boyfriend a couple of times. Definitely a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
After so many years of great reviews, I felt like commenting again on this recipe - since it is, after all mine. I've spent a lot of time refining this recipe, and thought I'd share my thoughts on the subject. These days, I start with an 8 oz. package of mushrooms - 1 pound was another clerical error by my mother-in-law - it was always 8 ounces. I start with medium-high heat, and just the butter and mushrooms. Once the 'shrooms start to give up their moisture, I lower the temp to medium andI add crushed garlic and sea salt - two cloves usually. I try not to add the balsamic vinegar too soon, so it doesn't get scorchy and lose its punch. This only takes around 10 mins or so. After I add the vinegar, I kick the heat all the way to high for a couple of minutes. This quickly reduces the balsamic/butter mix without overcooking the shrooms and killing their flavor. The mushrooms shouldn't spend more than 10 -12 minutes on average. Glad everyone has enjoyed the recipe all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canis Canon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
These are sooo good. I was definately apprehensive about the vinegar, but curiousity got the best of me and they are awesome. I have made them twice, the first time with balsamic, and the second time I was out so I tried rice wine vinegar, and believe me.. balsamic makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Awesome! I was looking for a different mushroom saute to go with my steak and i found it. I used regular mushrooms and garlic powder instead of crushed garlic. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
These were well received by my crew. I'm not a big mushroom person, so I skipped on this one, but everyone ate this with smiles. Thanks Lanni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I have been wanting a recipe and this is it!! I added some fresh parsley and some salt and pepper. They were yummy with my steak and grilled onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This recipe didn't come out tasting like much. It almost seemed like 1/2 an hour was too long to be cooking the mushrooms, causing them to lose the taste of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States