Pat's Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The soup is good. The instructions, on the other hand, need some clarifing. Putting flour in a pan & cooking it til "pasty"? What's that all about? I think most of us realize the idea was to make a roux. Anyway, it was delicious with only 4 slices of bacon. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was just about THE best potato soup I've ever had! My husband raved about it. The only thing I added was a couple of stalks of finely chopped celery and 1 tsp of chopped garlic (I put it in just about everything, though). This one is definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Thank you for the base to a great soup. The only thing I omitted was the flour. For the instant potatoes I used 1 packet of garlic and cheddar along with 3 med size potatoes grated like hash browns, two cans of cream of celery and a little pepper. I also only used the meat from the bacon, none of the fat and only half a med size onion. My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this soup for Christmas Eve and it was a big hit! I made it exactly as written and it was delicious. I agree, the recipe was confusing regarding the flour, but you just need to make a simple roux with the bacon grease and it will turn out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Humboldt, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
this recipe is awsome all my family enjoy it . thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Pretty good stuff & easy. I always use bacon bits- so I just saute'd the onion in a little butter, then added the flour. Then chicken broth & bacon, etc. Definitely mash the potatoes quite well in the pan,(when done) & stir between mashings to bring up the potatoes from the bottom. Cook at least 30 minutes- maybe 35-40!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This potato soup is delicious. I used skim milk and upped the flour to 2 tablespoons. Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I really liked this soup a lot but I also agree that the instructions aren't that great. I gave it a 5 anyway because it was tasty. I topped it with cheddar cheese and chives before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Incredible, in one word!The recipe was great, the directions...not so good but those of us who "know" potato soup know how to use the info. and made it work wonderfully! This was the best potato soup I've ever made! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
very good! will make again! I did leave out flour step and also topped with shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States