Pat's Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Quick, easy & yummy! I added salt & pepper, also topped it with cheddar cheese and chives. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
In spite of the bad directions this turned out GREAT! I fried the bacon in a Dutch oven then stirred the flower into the grease then added the onion and one rib of sliced celery and one grated carrot. Sauteed veggies for a short time then added the broth, instant potatoes and potatoes. I did mash about half of the potatoes before adding the half and half. The only seasoning I used was a little pepper. This was a keeper recipe and I'll be making it again. Thanks Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
We thought this was just OK. It had a very strong chicken taste to it from all the broth. Nex time I will play around with spices to get it to my liking. Late in the week, I blended the soup to make mashed potatoes. I love dishes with a dual purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Very delicious soup. I gave it a 4 because I felt the soup could use some additional seasoning. I followed the recipe pretty close. To make a bit more soup, I used 7 potatos, added an additional 2 cups broth, and increased the potato flakes to 1 cup. I used a whole package of bacon, and used a bit of the grease to make the rue. Next time I'll add some additional herbs & seasoning which should make this a 5 star recipe..Thanks Pat for the Gr8 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used skim milk and halved the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
A really good potato soup that can easily be customized to fit your own personal preferences. For example, I added more mashed potato flakes (I like potato soup pretty thick...) and also added some finely chopped broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Tastes great even with using 1% milk and lower fat modifications.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This soup was delicious! I did add 1 cup of the instant potatoes and cut my potatoes into small chunks. I did use the bacon grease to cook the flour in. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Added shredded carrots, white beans, & sour cream instead of half and half. Each person customized their bowls with crushed red pepper, parsley, or oregano. Fantastic. My 17 year old said she was so proud to be part of our family because of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liser
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great easy soup. Very tasty....subbed cooked bacon for the ham, added shredded cheddar to the rue and a couple drops of liquid smoke. I used two packets of Chicken Top Ramen Season because I didn't have bouillon cubes but it turned out just fine! YUMMY! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mud Pies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States