Pat's Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Awesome soup, I added salt, pepper, and slightly more potato flakes than it called for. Oh and I use red potatoes and red onion, this is my favorite soup ever ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I used this recipe as a jumping point to salvage a bad batch of mashed potatoes. I proceeded as directed until I got the point of adding the potatoes. At that step I added six large scoops of the failed (lumpy, sticky) mashed potatoes. I added the bacon and simmered. Because of the butter and milk in the mashed potatoes I skipped the cream. It was a hit. Sadly, I might not be able to replicate it, but as written it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
this is so easy to make thank u i double it for my family of 8 we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
The flavor is awesome but I like my soup a little thicker so I added some roux to thicken it. I also would probably chop the potatoes the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
i am making this soup right now, for me and a friend who had some dental work done. so far, its an easy recipe. i did make a flour paste and added the broth to it, so that it would not be lumpy. i am planning to mash a third of the potatoes and use it instead of the instant potatoes. it would be great for anyone who is having trouble chewing after dental surgery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This recipe is good if you ditch the flour. After it was done I ran it through the food processor and enjoyed the texture much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ari mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was not that great of soup. It tasted like instant mashed potato soup and not cream of potato soup. I ended up putting in sour cream, onion, garlic, cheese and lots of bacon. By the time i was finished it was loaded potato soup. The family liked the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious! Made twice in one week! I cooked bacon first. Removed bacon from pan and cooked onion in the remaining bacon fat. I added two tablespoons of flour and cooked for a few minutes then I added chicken broth, bacon, instant potatoes, potatoes and lots of pepper. Cooked it 45 minutes uncovered then added half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This soup was delicious and my kids LOVED IT!!! The only thing is that it was just a bit salty (probably because of the bacon I used) so next time I'll be using a lower salt chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I loved this soup! As another reviewer suggested I used skim milk and upped the flour to TBS and this recipe still felt indulgent. I also put in some frozen corn at the end and that added some great texture. After about 7 minutes my onions started to get too well done so be sure to keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States