Pat's Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My hubby and I love this. It's easy to reheat and eat on your morning commute. I always add different fruits and nuts to change the flavor somewhat. This time I'm using Cherries ans Almonds. Yum!. I would recommend it be baked a little longer than the recipe states. Mine is always too wet still. I usually bake 45 min at least. Now, if I could get the kids to eat it. Maybe spread Nutella on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
To me, it was good enough to make again, but I would want to add something... maybe a pinch more salt, and some nutmeg? It just seemed to be missing that "spark", though it definitely has potential. The only changes I made was to use two ripe mashed bananas (we were out of applesauce), an additional cup of fresh blueberries and whole milk. It did taste a lot better with half-and-half on it. 3 of four kids voted "keep, but only if we can have half-and-half on it", otherwise it was also kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Very good, we all liked it, including the kids. I served warm, with a drizzle of honey, fresh blueberries (instead of baked in) and some milk on top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made it "as is" today, including the optional ingredients. I had my first serving when it came out of the oven, and thought, "Meh." The taste was okay, but I wasn't thrilled with the consistency. Well, I put the rest in the fridge, and had a cold serving a little while ago -- WOW! I much prefer it cold; it's delicious that way! Like a dessert, only healthy :) My kids (ages 12 and 14) liked it too, and one of them is VERY picky. I was surprised when the picky one said, "Can you make this every week during the summer?" :) This is a keeper, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This recipe is good but I did make a few changes for my taste! Instead of brown sugar I used Agave nectar which has a lower glycemic index and is also sweeter so you use less of it (for every 1 cup brown sugar you use 2/3 cup agave) and I also added mashed banana to this recipe and used fresh blueberrys as I happened to have some on hand...I definitely recommend everyone looking into agave nectar as a healthier alternative to regular sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. My husband and I both loved it. It's great reheated in the microwave too. I have to eat gluten free so I left out the wheat germ. Next time I'll add walnuts, or pecans or almonds. I've tried other baked oatmeal and this one is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toivola, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Very easy to make, my kid (2&4)gobbled it up. I would do a 1/2 portion next time, as it makes a ton. Great for a bruch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe, and I love that it can be made ahead and reheated. This would be wonderful for a crowd also! I used a frozen organic mixed berry blend for the fruit. When serving, I think I'll drizzle a little honey on it just to add a bit more sweetness. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Excellent with blackberries. If refrigerated, microwave 30 seconds before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States