Pat's Award Winning Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe is outstanding. Although what started out a disaster turned out to be an even bigger success. When I tried to get the cake out of the pan it broke apart into 4 sections. I was in tears because I couldn't serve it on Easter the way it looked. My husband sampled it and said it was the best carrot cake ever and I HAD to serve it...so this is what we did. I broke the cake up into bite size cubes and layered it in a clear bowl as follows... cake pieces, drained pineapple chunks and Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting. I repeated the layers 2 more times. The frosting recipe is on this web site also and it is also fantastic. It was a huge success and people asked for the recipe. I think I'll always serve it this way from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDI BAKES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
How this won an award...I will never know!!!! Run from this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
AWSOME! My family and I loved this cake! Extremely moist, GREAT flavor...and, with a few changes, it's semi-healthy too! All I did differently was: I added a little allspice to the flour mixture. Used only 1 cup of vegetable oil (HIGHLY reccomended - it was plenty moist) Used about 1 1/2 cups sugar (I thought it was the perfect amount of sweetness, especially with the frosting..by the way, my frosting had one package of cream cheese, half a stick of butter, 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar, and 1 tsp. orange extract. Sometimes I add orange zest too. Orange is a GREAT flavor with carrot cake.) Instead of baby food, I used extra grated carrots. I reccommend adding extra carrots even if you use baby food, since 1/2 cup isn't very much. Didn't put any pecans in the batter - just on top of the frosting. =) With these small changes, it was definitely a 5 star cake!! ((This recipe is VERY similar to Carrot Cake III - only this one calls for baby food, so I think I'm going to start using that recipe...not that this one isn't DELISH!))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Wonderful moist flavorful carrot cake. Made some changes as follows: Used less oil 1 1/3 cups; eliminated coconut; decreased baby food to 7 oz.; increased grated carrots to 1 cup; added a little nutmeg. Baked for 40 minutes in two regular round cake pans as to make a traditional birthday cake. Frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting II (added extra cup of confectioner's sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I tried 3 other carrot cake recipes on this site, took one bite and tossed the cakes each time. I almost didn't try this recipe because I was becoming discouraged on finding a great carrot cake. Let me say, this is THE carrot cake!! The only change I made was that after the first cake, I tried adding a cup of drained, crushed pineapple and it turned out beautifully also. Either way, if you are looking for the best carrot cake you ever ate, look no further than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sass

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was a really good recipe. I also tested Sam's favorite Carrot Cake and that was really good too. It is a toss up to decide which one is better. Everyone likes both but the tally is about even to which one is better. Sam's is slightly ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I see why it won-so delicious! I used mashed carrots instead of baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINDOUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this for Easter based on all the reviews and it was fabulous. Everyone wanted some to take home. My Aunt couldn't make it over to the house but I had my Mother take her and her husband a few slices. My Aunt called me the next day to tell me it was awesome and she ate both slices! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Great recipe. Didn't change a thing. This was my first time makeing carrot cake, my husbands favorite. I have been using this same recipe for 3 years now and everyone loves how moist it is without comprimising traditional carrot cake flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made these into cupcakes with cream cheese frosting for my son's birthday party. To reduce calories, I substitute 1/2 cup oil with unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 cup of sugar with splenda. They still came out really moist! My only issue was that I did not enjoy the chewiness of the coconut flakes. Next time I think I will pulverize them in the food processor first so the pieces are minuscule. The cupcakes were enjoyed by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States