Pat's Award Winning Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I made this for my husband's birthday. He said it was the best carrot cake he had ever eaten. I followed the recipe completely with the exception of using 1/2 of pecans instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
My family and friends love this recipe. I omitted nuts, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I was a little disappointed... I've made carrot cake with baby food before, and expected it to be a little bit moister. Maybe my new oven bakes a little hotter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was a 5 with my alterations....1/2 olive oil 1/2 apple sauce, 1.5 cups sugar and only had 2 baby jars(carrots), but had some leftover pineapple to use. I had to cook this another 15 minutes(turned the oven down after 50 minutes as the cake was very brown), it was still soggy in the middle! Good flavour though. Icing was cream cheese frosting II by Janni from this site(real cream cheesy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Delicious! I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and he still talks about how great it was! If you're a cinnamon lover like we are, add an extra 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
yummy!!! it was my first time baking.. my sister just helped me bake.. but it was a success.. we, cut the recipe into half just for sample.. * 1 cup all-purpose flour * 1 teaspoon baking soda * 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon * 1/2 teaspoon salt * 1/2 cup butter (instead of vegetable oil) * 1 cup brown sugar (instead of white) * 2 eggs * 1 teaspoon french vanilla syrup * 1/4 cup crushed nuts (i don't like nuts that much) * 1/4 cup mashed carrots (instead of baby food) * 1/4 cup grated carrot * (we have disregarded the coconut) it turned out DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is REALLY GOOD!!!!! It was really most! Only use 1 cup of oil! For icing I used 1 1/4 cup of powder sugar,1 tsp. of orange extract,1/2 a stick of butter,and one 12 oz. package of cream cheese. Just mix it together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
VERY moist and tasty, I never change a thing about this one. I make this amazing cake for my bofriend every year on his birthday, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a-bean
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was the first carrot cake I ever made. I made this for my son's first birthday party and it got rave reviews. The problem was I forgot to omit the nuts for him, so I made a second cake a few days later so he could have some too. We gave him a different type of cake at his party. The second cake was just as good as the first. I did swap out 1/2 cup of oil for applesauce. The cakes were both really moist and flavorful, nuts, or no nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
AWSOME! My family and I loved this cake! Extremely moist, GREAT flavor...and, with a few changes, it's semi-healthy too! All I did differently was: I added a little allspice to the flour mixture. Used only 1 cup of vegetable oil (HIGHLY reccomended - it was plenty moist) Used about 1 1/2 cups sugar (I thought it was the perfect amount of sweetness, especially with the frosting..by the way, my frosting had one package of cream cheese, half a stick of butter, 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar, and 1 tsp. orange extract. Sometimes I add orange zest too. Orange is a GREAT flavor with carrot cake.) Instead of baby food, I used extra grated carrots. I reccommend adding extra carrots even if you use baby food, since 1/2 cup isn't very much. Didn't put any pecans in the batter - just on top of the frosting. =) With these small changes, it was definitely a 5 star cake!! ((This recipe is VERY similar to Carrot Cake III - only this one calls for baby food, so I think I'm going to start using that recipe...not that this one isn't DELISH!))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
It didnt taste much like carrot. It was oily. It was dishearteing to know how much oil we were consuming per bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixtlahuacán Del Rio, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States