Patriotic Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I was really worried about the cake as the blue jello was awful by itself. But I didn't overdo it and left 1/3 of the jello off the cake. The frosting, I did as other indicated, used coolwhip and vanilla pudding and 2tsp vanilla. My husband who is very picky about desserts, loved it. Little tricky getting it out of the pans, but I'll certainly do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCHAPROV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This cake was a hit at a Memorial Day BBQ. Here are some tips that I think really helped it look and taste wonderful. Be sure that the fork does not go all the way through the cake. Also, I didn't use all the Jello in each layer, I left about 1/4 cup for each cake out. It is a winner and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I really like this cake, and I normally don't even like white cake. The Jello-O gives it a flavor that I like. You can use whichever color gelatin and it will still taste good. One of my personal favorites is using green and red for Christmas. Its always a big hit when I bring it to Christmas parties and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I did change the frosting to give it more body. Mix 4-8 oz ( I settled on 6 oz) softened cream cheese and 1/2 cup confectioners sugar together and fold into the whipped topping. The cake is great as it is and my family asks for it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Perfect cool treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Pretty good for an easy cake, I used the cool whip recipe on this site where you add a package of pudding to the cool whip. This cake was so moist and tasty days after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
After just a couple bites I had requests for the recipe! Everyone loved it. I will definately be making this again and trying different flavors. Since we were going to be in the heat for a cookout I was kinda worried the cool whip would not hold the cake together so I did alter the icing using the suggestion from a reviewer. I used french vanilla instead of plain vanilla because its what I had. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chickentarian
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was fun and festive and if everyone didn't comment on how well they liked it I'm not sure I would even give it 3 stars. When I assembled my cake layers they were wet. If you pressed on the top a whole layer of what appeared to be water would come to the top. I actually had to use a paper towel to soak some of it up from the cake. Very pretty though. I will probably try making one more time to see if I can get better results. I liked the simpleness of the Cool Whip as the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This cake was a wonderful and fun addition to my Fourth of July party. The kids loved it and the adults thought it moist and yummy. I made the frosting as follows: 1 pkg 3 oz instant vanilla pudding, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup milk and 1 8 oz tub of cool whip. Mix pudding, milk and vanilla according to pkg directions. Fold in cool whip. Frost cake. This will be my new Fourth of July go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joni Lawter
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Did as instructed other than I subbed cream cheese icing for the Whipped Cream. Next day, even before cutting, the icing was runny & THIN! Not sure what happened but it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Lawter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States