Patriotic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I don't like pasta salad but this is such a hit every time I make it! I usually use red & orange peppers and not as much cauliflower. Such a great recipe to take to a party or picnic - a bit labor intensive but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denyel Bond
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is very good! I kinda just used what I had on hand, so I omitted the cauliflower, used regular tomatoes, a little dried basil and ditalini pasta. This was a nice change from the regular pasta/macaroni salads. Great flavor! I would make ths again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I'm disappointed to have to say I didn't really like this at all. I had high hopes for it but just found it rather bland even with all the interesting ingredients. I read the modifications other members made and some of them look like they would have made a difference. I doubt I will try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary Mackesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made this pasta twice this summer. I add a TON more garlic and basil since we love that flavor. This can be a bit time consuming the first few times making it but it is so delicious it is worth it. My bf's family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this salad by the recipe and found it to be a little to tart. Think I will leave out the sweet peppers and the blue cheese next time to see if it agrees with my taste better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Awesome good. An interesting and creative combination of ingredients you wouldn't necessarily think of putting together that resulted in a different and delicious pasta salad - one that's sure to be gobbled up and talked about at whatever occasion it's served. I made minor changes just to suit my own tastes - I didn't saute either the garlic or basil, just minced them fine and added as is. I also liked tunatwist's idea of subbing black olives for the cauliflower because it seemed a better match and after making this and tasting it I think it was a good choice both for taste and for the punch of color. I only made a small portion of this as Hubs won't eat blue cheese but it was so subtle he probably wouldn't have even known it was there. Most important, what I vigorously agree with tunatwist on is that to double the dressing as a couple of other reviewers suggested would totally throw off the perfect and subtle balance of flavors the submitter achieved with her proportions of ingredients and would most certainly result in the dreaded dressing overkill. Yes, pasta absorbs liquid but rather than add more dressing (because you're replacing a lot more than just the moisture that way) simply add a little milk, cream or half-and-half to make it nice and creamy again. Hubs really should have tried this - he didn't know what he was missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
When I mixed the dressing ingredients and did the taste test thing, I thought I had truly messed up in my choice of a potluck dish. I seriously struggled with how I was going to place my dish without anyone else noticing. After several hours in the fridge--separate from the pasta--the dressing took on a whole new life...an indescribable, delicious, religious experience. There is not a chance I will EVER make pasta salad any other way as this recipe is simply a masterpiece. I did sub black olives for the cauli. and spicy mustard (as in a brand spiked with tabasco) for the honey mustard and cayenne...not because I am slick, but because that's all I had on hand. I do have to disagree with others' suggestion in doubling the dressing, which I also did. I began by adding the original amount specified, then added a bit more and could immediately tell it was starting to become too heavy and way too much of a good thing; i.e. too much mayo in egg salad. I was so glad I erred to the side of caution. This recipe is a perfect and delicate balance of flavors exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
turned out bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
DELICIOUS describes this recipe! I made it for the 1st time for my mom's birthday party 2 days ago and it was a big hit.(I made 5x the recipe though because we had a lot of guests). Many people asked where I had bought it and were surprised when I told them I had made it. (I hardly ever cook so I know they were blown away that I pulled off something that tasted so good!) I left out the cauliflower and only put 1/2 cup of cherry tomatoes per recipe (this is for our own personal taste). I also doubled the garlic and the dressing as others suggested. I refrigerated the dressing and pasta seperately.An hour before party, I mixed them together so pasta wouldn't absorb dressing as others commented. Believe me, this recipe is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is one of my favorites. If I am short on time I will skip sautéing the garlic and basil. Just use a little oil on the pasta so it doesn’t stick and add a bit of basil. I will also skip the cauliflower if I don’t have it and it is still great!!! Make the extra dressing, it is so good you will want to add a little more. It was in the TOH magazine as part of a 4th of July menu which would explain the name. I wish they would rename it because it is a great recipe that might get more attention under a different name. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norahS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States