Patriotic Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Favorite dish to bring to cookouts. My coworkers loved it too. Can be made with different flavors and colors for other holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made this for a chuch 4th of July picnic! It was a hit and did not have hardly any of it left. Yes it takes time but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
It's beautiful but no one in my family liked the white mixture :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We have made this for years and it fits in a glass 9x13 pan really well. We make it with Sugar free jello and I can't tell the diference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This a really beautiful presentation. Just a little time consuming. The layers look and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYBAKESEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This looks very pretty, but the taste and texture of the white layer was really gross. I didn't use a bundt pan- we have a jello mold America shaped pan- it was really fitting. Next time, I'll also try experimenting with condensed milk. I also poured the layers on over a spoon and that worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe is always a big hit for the holiday. It's easy to make. Just have to allow all day to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I have made 'rainbow' jello many times over the years, but this is the first time I made it with patriotic colors. What a pretty touch to our 4th of July picnic! I gave the recipe only four stars because of the way in which the instructions are written. There isn't any reason to mix all the jello at once and then have to worry and fuss over it thickening too soon etc. Divide the liquids and use a small bowl to disolve and work with one color at a time. So, for example, use one cup of boiling water and a half cup of cold for the blue layer. As it is setting, mix up the white layer. I heat the milk in the microwave and it works just fine. The sour cream and milk and 1 pkg of gelatin makes enough for 2 layers. I also set my pan in the freezer to help it set a bit faster. Use a soup ladle to add additional layers to keep colors from breaking through. I find it so much easier to mix a layer at a time. It does take a while to make this dessert so give yourself several hours so you don't have to rush. Overnight is even better. Everyone loves the way this looks when it comes out of the mold--kids especially. It is well worth the extra work when you see all the smiles and reap the compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made this for 4th of July, and it turned out gorgeous. Everyone was really impressed. My bottom layer separated from the rest, getting a little raggedy in the process, but I managed to push it back under, and no one noticed. Also, we did not care for the taste of the white layer. Perhaps others had a different result, but consistency and taste-wise, it seemed like a mouthful of ricotta. I like ricotta, but not with my jello. I think next time I may experiment with heavy cream or condensed milk, mixed with the clear gelatin and sour cream. I could be wrong, but I think softening the gelatin in cold water, rather than dissolving it in hot, gave that layer a somewhat curdled effect. Still, I loved this dessert, and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States