Pastry for Single-Crust Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was a little skimpy for a 9.5 inch pie plate and had to be rolled quite thin. It needed more than the 4T of cold water. I did follow directions to a T. I used it for a pre-baked shell. We haven't tried it yet, but it looks a little hard, not flaky. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made this tonight for Belle and Chron's Spinach and mushroom quiche from this site. Added some rosemary. It was very good but I like a crust with butter so will probably use a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Perfect crust! It held together perfectly for my dutch apple pie. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was my 1st pie crust and it was a disaster; too dry to hold together in the bowl, even after adding another TBSP water. I dont own a food processor, but used an old-fashioned hand-held pastry blender tool. I rolled the dough out anyway. It broke into 3 pieces so I placed it in the pie plate, patching it as I went. I was about to make a custard pie, but dont want to waste all those eggs etc. I could cry. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I substituted unsalted butter for shortening as I didn't have any on hand and it turned out wonderfully! I highly recommend using a food processor for cutting the ingredients together. It worked out perfectly where I have ruined pie crusts before doing them by hand (cutting shortening in with a knife is a special kind of torture). I also like to form the dough into a disc, wrap in plastic wrap, and chill in the fridge for 20 minutes or so to make it more solid before rolling it out . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This turned out great. For a first time pie/crust maker, it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Really good crust. I added herbs for a savory dish. I wrapped it up and chilled for a few minutes, and when i started to roll it out, i thought it was too crumbly, but it just needed to be warmed/worked a little by hand. It rolled out fine after that. This is my new go to crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe always turns out for me. I have tried using different recipes, but always come back to this one. And it is so easy to convert to your liking. For fruit pies I often will add some sugar and/or vanilla into the crust. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noah
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
this was a very good flaky crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Washington, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States