Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Wow. This is great! I had guests coming from out of town, and completely spaced making a dessert. I happened to have some of those frozen pastry cups in the freezer, so I baked them up, filled them with this custard, threw some berries and a dusting of powdered sugar on top. Guests thought I'd been in the kitchen all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I had made a Italian Buttercream frosting & had leftover egg yolks...Did not know what to do with them...made this recipe, turned out great! Would make an excellent filling for cake.....;-) super easy to make...melted some semi sweet chocolate chips in it ..nyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trigun666

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made an angel food cake and had a ton of egg yolks to use. So easy and delicious. I admit I looked away while the whole mixture was on the stove and it clumped up, but I just used an immersion blender and all was well again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It was pretty good, but you could taste the flour. It was also very rich. We ate it warm with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a great pastry cream for anything that needs pastry cream. Eclairs,Napoleans even croissants! I used a little bit more of vanilla bean paste. I really prefer that to the sscrapings of the bean itself. It is so easy to change the favor to chocolate also by melting a good quality chocolate and stirring it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Turned out as expected and tasted lovely. Will play with the flour amount in the future to get the texture since my eggs(farm fresh) were a little bigger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I used it to fill vanilla cupcakes, which I then frosted with white chocolate SMB(Swiss Meringue Buttercream). Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this cream on request from my chef, it was incredably easy. Only took a few short minutes. The end result was smooth and shiny, like it should have been. I ended up adding 2 handfuls of chocolate chips and, after some cooling, whipped cream for a chocolate silk pie. This cream worked wonderfully for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Classic-this is my go to recipe for basic vanilla pudding and pastry cream. The vanilla bean is a bonus, but not totally necessary, you can use vanilla extract if you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Mmmm.... yum. I found that after mixing the egg/flour mix to the hot milk, it started to thicken too quickly, and wasnt loose enough to boil the floury taste out. I used a few TB of milk to thin it out and boil for a minute or so. It set up just fine after that. A little bit lumpy, but that's fixable if it bothers you. Sooo much better than store bought or instant custards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States