Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Can substitute about 1/3 teaspoon powdered vanilla bean for whole vanilla bean. Combine finished pastry cream with fresh bananas for banana cream pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Wow. This is great! I had guests coming from out of town, and completely spaced making a dessert. I happened to have some of those frozen pastry cups in the freezer, so I baked them up, filled them with this custard, threw some berries and a dusting of powdered sugar on top. Guests thought I'd been in the kitchen all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I had made a Italian Buttercream frosting & had leftover egg yolks...Did not know what to do with them...made this recipe, turned out great! Would make an excellent filling for cake.....;-) super easy to make...melted some semi sweet chocolate chips in it ..nyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trigun666

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made an angel food cake and had a ton of egg yolks to use. So easy and delicious. I admit I looked away while the whole mixture was on the stove and it clumped up, but I just used an immersion blender and all was well again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It was pretty good, but you could taste the flour. It was also very rich. We ate it warm with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a great pastry cream for anything that needs pastry cream. Eclairs,Napoleans even croissants! I used a little bit more of vanilla bean paste. I really prefer that to the sscrapings of the bean itself. It is so easy to change the favor to chocolate also by melting a good quality chocolate and stirring it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Turned out as expected and tasted lovely. Will play with the flour amount in the future to get the texture since my eggs(farm fresh) were a little bigger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I used it to fill vanilla cupcakes, which I then frosted with white chocolate SMB(Swiss Meringue Buttercream). Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this cream on request from my chef, it was incredably easy. Only took a few short minutes. The end result was smooth and shiny, like it should have been. I ended up adding 2 handfuls of chocolate chips and, after some cooling, whipped cream for a chocolate silk pie. This cream worked wonderfully for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Classic-this is my go to recipe for basic vanilla pudding and pastry cream. The vanilla bean is a bonus, but not totally necessary, you can use vanilla extract if you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States