Pastry Cream for Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, and even cooked the mixture longer than 2 minutes after "thickening" because it still had an uncooked flour smell. It didn't work; the cream has a heavy flour-y taste. I immediately tried again, cooking for the specified time and ended with an even heavier flour taste. In addition to reducing the amount of sugar you should reduce the amount of vanilla extract as well! A full tablespoon with only 1 cup of milk and 3 egg yolks darkened my cream noticably. The second try I used 1 teaspoon of vanilla and that helped, but it was still too flour-y to be edible. I will be trying a different recipe next time, with a higher milk/egg yolk-to-flour ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have made it several times and my family loves it I add a little bit of nut meg and cinnamon.delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I used less sugar as per comments and used a bit less vanilla, and subbed cornstarch for the flour (what I had). I also used a different technique. I mixed my starch and sugar and added the milk, brought it to a boil to thicken it, mixed in a bit with the yolks and added all back to pan and cooked for another minute, adding the butter and vanilla after removing from heat. I'm using it as a filling for Boston Cream Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Extremely sweet! Would definitely cut sugar in half the next time. I also used half-n-half in place of the milk. I found the cooking the combined mixture over the boiling water unnecessary and time consuming. After about a minute I emptied the contents of the bowl back into the small saucepan and cooked the mixture on low heat - whisking constantly. It was cooked and thickened in an instant - and smooth as silk. I also added about a tablespoon of Gran Marnier to the cream for a bit more fun. I used the cream between baked puff pastry squares and then proceeded with sweetened strawberries, real whipped cream and a drizzle of chocolate sauce for a fabulous dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
i make this same recipe all the time but I use corn startch instead of flour and always cook it in the microwave so much easier and won't burn I cook it 3 minutes then sir and cook for another 2 minutes and stir again if it needs more time then I put it back in for another minute . very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
YUM! This was perfect! I doubled the recipe to use as a filling to Heavenly White Cake (also on AR) and put fresh sliced strawberries on top of the custard in between the cake layers. I did use cornstarch instead of flour and I didn't use the double boiler. I just tempered the egg yolks with the hot milk mixture then added back to the pot and whisked and kept whisking and not a lump was found. There was a bit left over and I ate the next day with the left over fresh strawberries. So fantastic, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I think I was expecting a lot more than I got and was disappointed in the recipe. Will try again and rate hopefully higher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brown sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was very good. I made it a second time with 1/2 cup of Heavy Cream and 1/2 cups of Whole Milk. Much richer...very, very good. Great filling for Boston Cream Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Fantastic! Creamy and sweet. I balked at 1 tbsp vanilla, but it's fantastic. I bet you could use heavy cream in place of milk or some combination of the two. Mmmm. I made this a second time because I had tons of leftover egg yolks from the Heavenly Angel Food Cake recipe on this site so I made double this recipe and tried different flavors. 1 tsp cocoa powder per cup of custard was the best flavor combination I found; banana and almond extract added in was just okay. I don't care much for how long it takes to thicken - 30 min for me and a lot of stirring - but anyways thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used half the amount of sugar listed and half the vanilla. (seemed like a lot to me...) I think the flour gave this pudding a slightly starchy taste, so I'm going to try using half the amount of cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States