Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
If you are looking for an excellent custard filling for cakes this is the best recipe. It is very forgiving, easy to prepare and holds up well even in combination with fruit. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Wonderful! I also made this dairy-free using soy milk and margarine. At first it tastes gross but once the vanilla is added in, it's delicious! Keep stirring. Don't stop stirring. I used this for a fresh fruit tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myriam Isbored

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This turned out wonderful! I can, however, see how people could have problems with this recipe if they have never made a custard type recipe before. A critical part I find to be missing is to temper your egg mixture with about 1/2 cup heated mixture before combining them all together, so you won't have egg chunks. Slowly pour in your 1/2 cup heated milk while constantly stirring, then take that warmed up egg mixture and slowly add this to the remaining heated milk, again while constantly stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
More of a vanilla pudding; I don't know that I'd call it a pastry cream. I had no real issues with lumps as I slowly tempered the egg mixture with about 3/4 cup of the hot milk mixture, whisking the entire time, and continuing to whisk as I poured the hot egg mixture into the remaining milk. I removed the pan from the heat as I added the egg mixture to the milk and once it was combined I put it back on the burner, whisking until desired thickness was achieved. I removed from heat, whisked in the butter and vanilla, giving it a good blending, and it came out fine. My only issue is the flavor--I find it to be a bit blandish, hence the 3 stars. Perhaps more vanilla? This recipe worked up lickety split and worth a try and perhaps a repeat with the increased vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
just made it, very easy and delicious I almost ate the whole thing right out of the pan rather than put it on my trifle, so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Super easy to make and able to add to other pastries as a filling or leave as a regular custard. delicious any way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I have not tried ,but am looking forward to maklng it.Sounds easy enough. That is what I like about it. I have been looking for a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This is a fantastic pastry cream recipe. First, I must say, I have been making cake and pastry professionally for almost ten years. I have replaced my former tried-and-true recipe with this one, as this achieves the exact purpose that pastry cream serves. It's thick, not pasty, and sweet enough. If it seems too thick, after you cook it and chill it, you can just stir it with a whisk to loosen it up. You can also use whole eggs or just yolks. If you use whole eggs instead of yolks, replace every two yolks with one whole egg to make it a bit lighter. Similarly, replace one egg with two yolks for a creamier, denser custard. The thickness of the pastry cream depends on how long you cook it. Before adding the eggs to the pot, whisk in about a third of the hot milk into the eggs to warm them, then whisk the egg mix back into the pot. Stir with whisk constantly (on medium-high heat, for me) till mixture begins to boil, then whisk like crazy (carefully) till it begins to thicken. Pull it off the heat when it looks just thick enough. Remember that it'll continue to cook slightly as it sits. If you want a looser cream, don't cook it till it's super thick in the pot. Whisk your softened butter in thoroughly. Don't leave streaks of melted butter. Mix in your vanilla (I use 1.5 t of bourbon vanilla extract) thoroughly, and push the custard through a strainer. Always strain your custards! Even if you don't have curdled egg in your mix, it gives you a more refined final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Q Hush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
just made this for the first time, very easy to make but keep your eye on it because it with thicken in an instant. Like a thick custard that holds some shape, very tasty and sweet, will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I don't rate too many recipes (not as many as I should anyway). But, I had to for this one. I've always used a flour based version because I thought cornstarch had a funny taste and was too difficult...boy, was I wrong. This recipe is the best custard recipe I've ever tried. Easy, fool proof and so delicious! Made exactly as written and it was wonderful. Thanks so much for the recipe! Edit: Made this again today with chocolate added to it-splendid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States