Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I love this recipe it is so easy to make and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I liked this better than the flour thickened versions for my Boston cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the easiest recipe ever! Simple simon , made this 6 times in the last week , many requests , if you can't make this hire a cook to cook for you rest if your life, LOVE,LOVE,LOVE!!! I used almond instead of vanilla extract, the first time was told it taste like vanilla pudding , the almond is just the right trade yum ! o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luverne, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by devondoyle
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe is the jam. I added rum and ground cardamon as flavoring and used it in a Napolean and it turned out delicious. I didn't follow the method however. I put all the ingredients in a heavy bottomed pot except for the butter and flavoring and brought to a quick boil whisking the whole time over medium high heat (gas stove). Once thickened I strained the custard base over the butter and flavoring, whisked till incorporated, covered with plastic wrap and let it cool overnight. The flavor is better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great recipe! I did however use only the small amount of sugar, used potato starch (not potato flour) instead of corn starch being most certainly a GMO engineered product, I dissolved the starch in enough water to make it runny, mixed with the eggs,, removed the milk from the heat for a moment before adding the egg mix, then back on the medium hot burner, stirring constantly until thickened. Bingo! Oh, and I substituted some of the milk with whipping cream and I used a real vanilla bean (sliced open to release the black seeds, cooked with the milk then removed before adding anything). Hard to fail with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this to use as a filling for crepes with fresh strawberries. So decadent! YUM! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I will be using it many more times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
4.5 stars! Do not decrease the sugar, but do add 1/8tsp salt. The salt will balance everything out. I particularly like this served warm on berries and sponge cake. Ignore the reviewers who say this tastes like Jello brand pudding; this has more depth than Jello will ever have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe, I sieved the cornflour with the sugar before adding to the eggs and it didn't seem lumpy. When I was stirring it the second time in the saucepan, it was really watery and then rapidly thickened. I sieved the mixture twice, it tastes great, used with strawberries and a sweet shortcrust pastry! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I did this for the first time ever and it came out pretty well. I used light coconut milk (lactose intolerant) and egg substitute. Yeah I had my doubts. I think next time I will make sure to have everything right next to the stove so I will not miss a beat of stirring and whisking because it wasn't as smooth as I think it should have been, but all in all it tasted great. After cooling in the fridge for about 3 hours I put it into a graham cracker pie crust and topped with fresh blueberries and strawberries. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONADRAGON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I never do actually follow a recipe, I used unsweetened coconut milk. I was amazing! No lumps, not too sweet and was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States