Pastrami Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great taste. We loved them. Next time I think I'll mix the dry ingredients first for better distribution of the black pepper. A couple of the wings were a little on the peppery side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
We really like the crust on those wings. My husband said that those are the best wings I've ever made. I served them with Ranch dressing. 6/17/2012, made it again. The whole family still liked it. My children asked for the second serving and my husband again said that those are the best wings ever! We skipped the ranch this time, no need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Made for the first time last Ryeday! Excellent! Today I am trying them with some Jerk mixed in? I will let you know how they turn out. OK the Jerk realy kicked them up a notch. These wing are now on my list of the best things I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These were great. I've been looking at this recipe for a while and finally gave it a try. Glad I did. I did not use the white pepper but did not adjust the black to make up for it. I also did not add the cayennne. I coated in oil first then I mixed together all the dry ingredient except the flour which I sprinkled and coated last. I baked in a large glass baking dish coated with extra spray. No sticking at all and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent wings! I lined a sheet pan with parchment, good thing because they kind of stuck and would have been a mess to clean up. In the video Chef John used a silpat liner which I am sure would have worked better for non stick but I didn't want to clean even the silpat. I served these for the Monday Night Football crowd and there was not a single one left. I did add some granulated garlic and onion powder. I mixed up the spices and wings without the flour and held them in the refrigerator. Just before baking I sprinkled with the flour and tossed them to coat them well. The wings were nicely carmelized and took about 45 minutes total. They held well in a chaffing pan for over an hour. I am going to make this with chicken thighs - I bet they will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I used this recipe for July 4th of this year and it came out great. However, I prepped a lot of food on the 3rd and decided to marinate these chicken wings. For approximately 25 wings and legs, I used all the ingredients except for the flour. I added them to a zip-lock bag along with 1/3 cup soy sauce and about 1/3 cup store bought Italian dressing (just enough liquid to cover a little over half of the chicken in a gallon size zip-lock.) I marinated them for about 4 hours turning them every 45 minutes or so. EVERYONE in attendance asked for the recipe so I decided to post this comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Holy Moly these are good! I used chicken drumsticks. These have a great peppery flavor and are even better the next day cold! This is my new go to drumstick/wing recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My husband LOVES these! Made them today and was going to serve them later for the Super Bowl, but we've already eaten them so I will have to make more later. I saw your video on "how to eat chicken wings" so I served them with Russian/thousand island dressing. They made them so tasty and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Everyone loved the wings, though my husband was initially skeptical with the idea of chicken wings tasting like Pastrami. Luckily, he loves pastrami so he was willing to try it and ended up loving the flavors, same as our picky 9yr old boy! Making these again for sure! Only change was adding granulated garlic & onion. :) excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Just made this recipe for a football-watching Sunday afternoon and YUM! My husband called them "delicious." I will make these again, even for dinner with a salad. We didn't have any ground coriander so I used whole seed and crushed them with a rolling pin - this worked fine, but I used a lot less than the recipe called for as the crushed seeds were very powerful. I also coated the wings with the oil first, then sprinkled the pre-mixed spice blend, then the flour. I then placed the wings in the parchment paper and allowed them to stand in the fridge for about 45 minutes to an hour to make sure they were nice and dry so they'd crisp up in the oven. They came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States