Pastitsio III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was a big hit at the potluck I took it to. I loved the unique spices. I doubled it and baked it in a 10x15 casserole. The amounts were just right. However, it dirtied just about every dish in my kitchen! Worth it, but will keep that in mind. The only thing I changed was I put all of the noodles in, then the meat sauce, then the white sauce - all the pictures showed it that way, and that is how I remember eating it in Cyprus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Followed exactly and it was very good. Very similar to what my Yaiyia made when I was young. I only gave it 4 stars because it needs more bechamel sauce. Thnk you for posting, will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Was looking for something different well I found it. Really liked it and will do it again. As the one person commented about changing the recipe and then rating it I took that to heart so I have to say I did change it because of what I had in the house. Canned tomatoes is one thing I changed plus added onion to the white sauce. Think I would like to try a different noodle as another person added. Try it you will like it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was delicious. A lot of work but delicious. Only change was 3 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Everyone loved it. I like the creaminess of the white sauce against the tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Fabulous! I no longer have to go to a Greek restaurant for my favorite dish! Only changes were based on what I had on hand, since I made this on a whim -- canned diced tomatoes and cider vinegar instead of red wine. Oh, and added about a half teaspoon of oregano to the meat, and just a bit of nutmeg to the white sauce. I might make more white sauce next time -- not because there's anything wrong with the proportions as-is, but because I really have a "thing" for custards. :) Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Have been using this recipe for years and decided it was time I thank David for publishing and sharing. David, I'm a professional chef/caterer, and there's no better authentic pastitsio than this recipe, right down to the red wine vinegar. It's perfect the way it is written. For those of you who change it until it's unrecognizable, and then review it, shame on you. Prepare it the way it's written, and if you want to change it drastically ---- publish your own recipe, don't review this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This dish is aromatic and flavorful. Romas didn't look that good so I substituted a large can of petite diced tomato instead. I also doubled the recipe and froze half to be baked later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Used feta cheese as well as parmesan and romano cheese. Very good and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My husband and I had been looking for a good Greek restaurant to no avail, so i decided to cook this instead! Husband loved it, I thought it was way too much cinnamon and allspice. There is a lot of clean up, but the way I cook every night, it was no different than any other dish I make that doesn't come from a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States