Pastitsio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Loved it and so did my kids! Next time I make it though I'll leave the foil on a bit longer bc the noodles on the very top got a bit too crunchy. Also replaced the allspice with just an extra sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This recipe is complicated but is worth it. I had to reduce the servings which made my measurements and serving portion smaller than I thought. Baking at 400 degrees was also too high and my finished dish was dry and the pasta became too hard to eat on the outside edges. Next time I will only bake at 350 degrees and keep to the original portion size. The flavors were spot on so I will be making this dish again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is just another family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
We all loved it! Easy enough to prepare ahead of time too. Satisfied my Greek tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was very good - but I am still searching for the perfect (IMHO) Pastitsio. My husband and the adult step-son raved about it, but my finicky taste buds still compare it to the first and best Pastitio I ever tasted, in a popular local Greek restaurant - it was made with hamburger also. I suspect they probably catered somewhat to American tastes, so my frame of reference is most likely a little skewed. However, I think I trust others taste buds a bit more than my own, and this has never failed to please. Thanks for submitting the recipe, Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I thought this was great, but I only made half the recipe since it's way too much for two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have made this recipe for years and it is a winner. It takes a few bowls and pans but this can be cleaned up during the baking - and it's well worth it! As the kids were growing up, they had this recipe right up there with pizza as their favorite. I never knew the real name but called it Greek Macaroni Bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made this for a Greek Party we had and even the couple that was Greek thought it tasted as good as her mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Good stuff. I quartered the recipe for the wife and I, added some spinach and baked in a square pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States