Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was so good! I did not use the rutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Followed the original recipe except used hamburger instead of chuck. That's how I remember it in Northern Wisconsin. I always have more filling than dough so make a larger batch of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I live in an old mining town where the original townspeople were all Cornish. Pasties are pretty huge here and I have to say that this recipe made the most authentic pasties I've tasted. They equal the best restaurant in town which has been making the same recipe since the 1800's. I made them with leftover cooked ham, cheddar cheese, broccoli and shallots and the kids asked for thirds! They were that good. Don't hesitate to make this recipe. It makes 6 huge servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Got rutabaga in CSA box and was stumped. Followed recipe as noted minus carrot and they came out great. Can't wait until next batch and start experimenting with fillings. Great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are wonderful! My late husband used to make pasties and we have missed them since he died. Wasn't sure if I could make them as good, but I followed the recipe exactly and we loved them. The crust was a breeze to work with (and I always struggle with pie crust), did not fall apart our stick at all. We will be having pasties alot this winter! I plan to make a bunch and freeze them for days when we just don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My family is from the U.P., but originally from Cornwall. This was the pasty I grew up on, but without the addition of carrot. For those that think they're dry....well, they aren't supposed to be like a pot pie. I eat it with ketchup, as does the rest of my huge family. We have gotten a little lazy though, and a lot of times make a big pastie pie. Sometimes I'll make my own crust and sometimes I'll just buy an already made crust. Just layer it in the pie shell as the recipe states, dot with a little butter if you wish, cover with the other crust and make a couple slits and bake at 350 for an hour to an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Like other users, I used ground beef (which is what I've typically encountered in the UP) or ground venison with 10% beef fat. The key with pasties is definitely the rutabaga. I have added mushrooms (canned or fresh) with success. At the suggestion of other reviewers, I brushed the tops with milk and a little butter to get them to brown. If you've never had pasties - they are supposed to be a little dry inside (even a good pasty is a wee bit "dry"). This was the biggest surprise for me when I first tried pasties (I'm not a native Michigander). A lot of people like to serve them with brown or cream gravy on the side to dip bites in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Yum! I didn't have rutabega-but it was delish with steak, potato and carrots (garlic and parsley). I was worried about everything cooking by putting it in raw-it turned out amazing! I had left over filling too. Served with brown gravy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My family is from Cornwall. This recipe goes back several generations for me. Excellent in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made these a bunch of times, the only regular changes the addition of carrot for a bit of color, butter for margarine, and an egg wash to make the crust pretty. Just like with steaks, if I've got a really good cut of meat, the simple seasoning here is fine. It's just when I've got an ordinary bit of meat that I need to up the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States