Pasteles - Argentinean Caramel Filled Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Taste was fantastic but couldn't get the carmel to stay in! Loved the taste tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash33

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
super good, but definitely not an Argentinean food. Caramel? Dulce de Leche is where it's at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mackintosh
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delicious and not difficult!! These were gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is a great idea...but I found that even if you only use 1 tsp of filling, it still leaks out! So what you end up eating is basically just pastry. I think I would bake solid pastry wedges and serve it with the warm caramel sauce as a dip...that way you can taste the caramel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
nearly impossible to prevent mess. lose most of filling. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle McCormick
Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
The dough for these cookies was a little like pastry/pie dough and was delicious; not overly sweet and very easy to work with, though I did have to use my kitchenaid to blend it. I am an experienced baker and I just couldn't get this to come together by hand with a pastry blender and didn't want to add more moisture. So after working it by hand for a while and still having a lot of crumb, I threw it in the mixer bowl on medium speed for less than 30 seconds and it came together. I was a total idiot and forgot the coconut for the filling as I was making these (that's what you get for baking Christmas cookies for 14 hours straight) and I think I would have appreciated the viscosity it would have added to the filling. I sealed my edges TIGHTLY and still I had some leakage with some of the cookies. However, they are very tasty, and they're lovely to boot. A very nice addition to my cookie trays and I will make them again next year WITH the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Surprisingly not too difficult ... they have a light flavor, not overly sweet ... I ended up with too much caramel as well, and when I overstuffed them the caramel leaked a bit and made crispy edges, but they tasted excellent and still looked cute and dainty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I wanted to like these more than I did. I'm sure these take practice, but mine were a mess. There was too much caramel filling which was kinda hard to work with, my dough-to-filling ratio wasn't any good, my filling ran out of the cookies, and the baked dough seemed really dry. I think I overworked it. I think this would be a good recipe to practice, but I didn't enjoy them much myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My family was really amazed at this recipe. 5 stars for the taste. But don`t put too much filling on the dough (do as the recipe says - 1/2 teaspoon). I put much and the filling flew out from some pasteles and they didn`t look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by melissapie
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I doubled this recipe and ended up having a lot of caramel left over. The pasteles were very good. They tended to overflow a little bit. My class loved them, many people asked for seconds and others asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissapie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States