Pasteles - Argentinean Caramel Filled Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
super good, but definitely not an Argentinean food. Caramel? Dulce de Leche is where it's at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mackintosh
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delicious and not difficult!! These were gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is a great idea...but I found that even if you only use 1 tsp of filling, it still leaks out! So what you end up eating is basically just pastry. I think I would bake solid pastry wedges and serve it with the warm caramel sauce as a dip...that way you can taste the caramel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
nearly impossible to prevent mess. lose most of filling. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle McCormick
Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
The dough for these cookies was a little like pastry/pie dough and was delicious; not overly sweet and very easy to work with, though I did have to use my kitchenaid to blend it. I am an experienced baker and I just couldn't get this to come together by hand with a pastry blender and didn't want to add more moisture. So after working it by hand for a while and still having a lot of crumb, I threw it in the mixer bowl on medium speed for less than 30 seconds and it came together. I was a total idiot and forgot the coconut for the filling as I was making these (that's what you get for baking Christmas cookies for 14 hours straight) and I think I would have appreciated the viscosity it would have added to the filling. I sealed my edges TIGHTLY and still I had some leakage with some of the cookies. However, they are very tasty, and they're lovely to boot. A very nice addition to my cookie trays and I will make them again next year WITH the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Surprisingly not too difficult ... they have a light flavor, not overly sweet ... I ended up with too much caramel as well, and when I overstuffed them the caramel leaked a bit and made crispy edges, but they tasted excellent and still looked cute and dainty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I wanted to like these more than I did. I'm sure these take practice, but mine were a mess. There was too much caramel filling which was kinda hard to work with, my dough-to-filling ratio wasn't any good, my filling ran out of the cookies, and the baked dough seemed really dry. I think I overworked it. I think this would be a good recipe to practice, but I didn't enjoy them much myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My family was really amazed at this recipe. 5 stars for the taste. But don`t put too much filling on the dough (do as the recipe says - 1/2 teaspoon). I put much and the filling flew out from some pasteles and they didn`t look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by melissapie
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I doubled this recipe and ended up having a lot of caramel left over. The pasteles were very good. They tended to overflow a little bit. My class loved them, many people asked for seconds and others asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissapie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
It turned out way better than i thought it would. A really good shorcut, though, is instead of making the dough, just buy the pre-made pie crust dough (Pillsbury). It shaves off at least 2 hours and cuts out some of the sugar! A big hit at school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States