Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Seriously delicious. Must definitely put unsweetened whipped cream and strawberries on top! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Redinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
It fluffed up dramatically in the oven, then fell flat before my eyes, until the cake was barely 2 cm tall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I had high hopes with all the rave reviews, but my cake was a total fail. I beat the egg whites as directed and added ingredients as directed. After adding the milk and vanilla, the batter lost all volume and was very, very runny. It didn't rise and didn't soak up the milk. I did discover that my baking powder was old, but should the batter have been runny? Now I'm reluctant to try it again. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I've made this for several different occasions. It is always a hit. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBell11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Absolutely Fabulous! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannyBanany
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was awesome and much simpler than I anticipated. My mixer did all of the legwork really, and I just added things in lol. I followed the directions and ingredients exactly, however I did forget the .5c of milk IN the cake batter. I was kicking myself once I realized what I'd done, but fortunately I made a small tester cake to try. The result was probably a touch drier than I would have liked, but once I added the mix mixture and let it absorb in the fridge for a few hours, it turned out great! I've had tres leches before, but had never made my own, so I at least knew what consistency and flavor I was looking for lol. I served this as a Mexican/Spanish inspired potluck that we hosted and all of my guests raved about it. Before the night was over they had completely demolished the cake, which I took as a good sign. ;) I opted to just simply sift powdered sugar on the cake right before serving, garnished with a few sliced strawberries in the middle, and on the side of each piece when I served it. I'll definitely be making this again and next time I won't forget that .5c of milk lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this for Father's Day as my husband has fond memories of the Tres Leches cake he used to eat in Nuevo Laredo. I used 1/2 cup of whipping cream in the cake and 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream whipped with Dr Oetker's Whip It, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tbsp icing sugar for the topping. I also used Eagle Brand Dulce de Leche sweetened condensed milk in the cake, as that is what I had. I baked in a 9x13 pan for 24 minutes. I had never eaten Tres Leches before, I really enjoyed as did my family. I served with strawberries that I macerated in 1 tbsp sugar and 1 tbsp Grand Marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by SON-FLOWER
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
First, let me say that I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Because I live in a high altitude area, I always have to modify my cake recipes: less sugar, less leavening, more flour, more liquid. When I first made this recipe, I misread the amount of baking powder. I'm still not sure that the recipe requires 1 Tablespoon of baking powder. I thought the recipe said 1 teaspoon, and I adjusted for high altitude accordingly. Also, instead of a 10x15 cake, I made cupcakes. I make a lot of cupcakes, all the time. Everybody in my world has their own personal favorite. This recipe has now become everybody's personal favorite! I did make other modifications: I used coconut milk in place of milk in the cake batter and added a half teaspoon of coconut extract and a dash of cinnamon. I also made a topping of freshly whipped cream with dulce de leche, and then topped with toasted coconut. Essentially, I made a cinco leches cake. ;) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SON-FLOWER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I noticed nothing was mentioned in the recipe about poking holes in the cake after it cooled down. Take either a fork or a wooden spoon handle and poke holes all over the cake. The milk syrup will fill in holes to make the cake moister. Tres Leches Cake is nice but pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yum people were coming for 2nds before I'd finished serving everyone. I garnished with whipped cream and bananas. The leftovers were demolished for Breakfast, yes Breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States