Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
There is too much 'going on' in this recipe. Scallops are too delicate to be drowned with all these ingredients. Less is more with shellfish, for me. If I used pesto, I would use a small amount added to a bit of cream or half-and-half. Shellfish and fish, in Italian cuisine are tradionally served without cheese but I like a bit of Romano on top. I love home-made pesto and vegetables with pasta. I wouldn't make the recipe again but do love scallops with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
My husband turns his nose up at any "odd" ingredient in pasta, but he loved this dish made with shrimp instead of scallops. Used fire roasted tomatoes and feta in addition to the parmesan(mixing recipes found on this site - makes it hard to decide which to review, but the results were wonderful.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
My family loved this recipe. We added mushrooms, onion flakes and white wine to this. It was plain until we added some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Was definitely missing some flavor for me. Went back for the leftovers and added some pomodoro and tomato paste to basically turn it into a red sauce. much more to my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Good, but didn't blow me away. The zucchini cook time was way too long and they were soggy. I added the 1/2 cup of white wine, which made this a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was a quick, easy and visually appealing dish I will definitely make again. I used the zucchini, Roma tomatoes and basil from my garden. After reading the reviews, I added garlic, onion and white wine, because I can't imagine pasta without it. I also think this would be equally as good with shrimp or chicken breast, depending on what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was excellent. I had to make some changes to go with items I had. I added diced red pepper,and a small bottle of marinated artichoke hearts, and I cut up tomatoes (regular fresh tomato) and left off the zucchini as I didn't have any. Followed the rest of recipe and it was so good I couldn't believe it. I will be making this many more times as it was easy and quick to make expecially if you have unexpected company. Made a salad to accompany the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This tasted like 10 stars when I was done with it, but in all fairness I'll give it a 4 since I made so many changes. I didn't have garlic in the house (I freak out when that happens) so I sauteed half an onion with a bit of garlic salt instead. I used shrimp instead of scallops. I used fresh parsley as well as basil. I added a splash of white wine and a spoon of pesto. It was incredible. My husband loved it and he doesn't even like tomatoes, onions, or zucchini very much. So I did make a lot of changes, but this recipe has GREAT bones, and I would highly recommend that you try it and feel free to improvise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marywether07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I used whole wheat angel hair pasta and ground black pepper instead of crushed red pepper flakes. Used the dried basil and didn't measure anything. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING!!! I have made it several time for family and friend, and all have LOVED it... It's healthy and delicious at the same time! I use the frozen, smaller version of scallops (sea scallops I think) and they work just as well. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingchick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Tuna Zucchini Elbow Pasta

A quick-and-easy pasta for no-fuss weeknight dinners.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States