Pasta with Salami and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
i used all the ingredients the recipe called for but cut WAY back on the oil and butter. I also crisped the salami. The DH and I liked the end result well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I use this recipe a lot. I have made my own adjustments. I don't think anyone wanys to hear them. This is a great tasting dish, that is somewhat healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I loved this recipe! I used pecorino romano instead of parmesan, which was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Just cut down on the oil and butter and this is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Easy, definately! Unfortunately, it was unbelievably greasy. The salami & grease overpowered the entire dish. You could not taste the cheese at all-I even tried to add an extra 1/2c of an Italian blend cheese & still couldn't taste it. We all liked the addition of the peas. I'm really glad I tried it but probably won't make again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a great quick dish. Because some others said it was a bit greasy, we cut down on the oil/butter - for two people we only used about 2 TBL oil and no butter. We also cooked the salami ahead of time, which made it crispy, which was a nice touch. We only cooked the peas for the last 3 minutes with the pasta, otherwise I think they would have been overcooked. This is a great tasting dish that is easy and I think it would be easy to add/sub different veggies depending on what you have on hand. I think next time I will add corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I love this! I changed nothing about it, and I thought it was perfect. Much spicier than I expected.. which is a good thing! Yes, it is very greasy, but sometimes you're just in the mood for that. In fact (and you all might get on me for saying this), due to how greasy this dish is, I might think it's the perfect hangover food! Either way, though, I thought this was delicious and will 100% make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
We thought this was really good! I didn't make any drastic changes, but I did change it up slightly. First off, I used mini farfalle pasta. I chopped the salami into small pieces because I was feeding a toddler and for more even distribution. I melted the butter in a pan and added the salami, vidalia onion (I had no green onions) and the garlic and cooked that until the onion was tender. I used steamfrsh peas, so I nuked them and added them to the salami/onion mixture and heated through. I added the cooked pasta a nice splash of extra virgin olive oil, a little salt, pepper, a dash of cayenne (again, I was feeding a toddler), and about 1/2 cup parmesan cheese. At the table we added extra parm. I will be making this again, and I may sub bacon for the salami next time, just to see how it turns out! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Good, but very greasy - for that I give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Tasty, easy. A good way to use up salami. I think my salami was the soft kind, not the hard, but it came out fine. I can see where some people might find it greasy--I think you could cut back a bit on the oil without problem. Perhaps also next time I will try heavily salting the pasta when I cook it, so I don't end up putting extra salt on top of the already salty salami. Update: Made this again, and I took another reviewer's advice and fried the salami, then used the salami grease to fry onion, etc. Came out a lot less greasy. I didn't add any oil or butter, and it was fine, although if you wish, you could add a bit at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States