Pasta with Salami and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
this was really easy and really yum! I didn't have any salami and I used bacon instead but it was still pretty good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cromwell, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was very quick and delicious. I used farfalle pasta instead. Next time I might add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Overall, we liked this, although by the end of the meal the greasiness got a bit over-powering from the salami coupled with the sauce. The flavors were good, though, and the peas were a nice addition. It made for a pretty presentation. We will probably make this again and just cut back a little on the salami. I might even throw in some black olives and a diced fresh tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. Looks terrific and has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was AWESOME! Usually I prefer to try a recipe exactly as it's written before fiddling with it, but I found this recipe while trying to avoid a trip to the grocery store, so I used what I had on hand. Instead of green onions, I used a small yellow onion, minced, and a scant 1/2 tsp. chili powder substituted for the cayenne. I also cut back on the butter and used the cheap canister parmesan rather than fresh grated; however, I don't think these changes altered the character of the dish. Perfect for a quick and flavorful weeknight dinner! Edited to update: I still make this fairly often. I never add salt (there's enough in the pasta and salami), and I usually leave out the butter. Olive oil seems essential to me, but I think using cotto salami rather than hard salami makes it less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
A Little bit oily, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Thanks SAVVYHOSTESS for a great pasta recipe! It's nice to find a non-tomato pasta that's this delicious and easy, too. I'm sorry to say that I did not use salami - didn't have any - so substituted ham. I also used some fresh mushrooms and a grated zucchini in addition to the peas and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
To reduce the "oily" factor, I sliced the salami up and fried it in a pan on medium heat (it makes its own oil, so don't add any). I added the garlic into this once I saw it was getting crispy and needed only a few more minutes. I didn't use any butter at all, and only enough oil to lightly coat my pasta so it wouldn't stick. (maybe 1-2 tbls.) I also added halved cherry tomatoes from my garden. It was delicious, and not greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was very tasty. I left the 1/4 oil out and cooked all in a non-stick frypan. I made a wee red wine sauce to go over it instead of oil. All yum flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand
Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Tasty, easy. A good way to use up salami. I think my salami was the soft kind, not the hard, but it came out fine. I can see where some people might find it greasy--I think you could cut back a bit on the oil without problem. Perhaps also next time I will try heavily salting the pasta when I cook it, so I don't end up putting extra salt on top of the already salty salami. Update: Made this again, and I took another reviewer's advice and fried the salami, then used the salami grease to fry onion, etc. Came out a lot less greasy. I didn't add any oil or butter, and it was fine, although if you wish, you could add a bit at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States