Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was just divine. I made a couple of alterations. i used skim milk instead of the cream to cut down the fat and added some diced up summer squash to the sauce as I had some I wanted to use up. I did forget to add the balsamic vinegar to my portion last night but I will remember to do that for the leftovers. Oh yes, I didn't have sausage so I used chicken breast. I really want to try this sometime when I can get my hands on some fresh sage. I looked in the store and there was none to be found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I made some modifications, but the basic idea is great and I'll be making this one again! I roasted the squash w/ olive oil, sage, a tbls of butter and a bit of chicken stock. We had neither sausage nor balsamic vinegar, but we had chicken breasts and vinaigrette salad dressing, so I baked the chicken w/ the vinaigrette and it came out super tender and tasty. I chopped that up, tossed it and the squash together w/ the pasta, a splash of milk (no cream in the house, and we didn't want a heavy meal) and some parmesan cheese. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
My daughter made this today. She used ground turkey burger in place of the turkey sausage. She also used some (not the 2 tsp.) poultry seasoning (did not have any sage) and left out the vinegar. She made it lighter using skim milk in place of the cream. She will definately be making this again! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This turned out to be a REALLY good recipe! A few pointers so you can avoid the dogfood look another reader mentioned. 1) Don't turn the squash more than you have to. Once in the roasting pan and once after you add cream to the saucepan will keep it from going mushy. 2) A little butter and a crushed clove of garlic added to the roasting pan deepens the flavor. 3) Don't let the cream fritter away in the saucepan or the squash/sausage mix will turn to stew and you won't have enough sauce for the penne. 4) You might not even need the pasta - the mix is that good. This is a very tasty, restaurant-quality recipe and the slight drizzle of balsamico adds subtle sparkle to the flavor. An Excellent dish - I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe was not at all what I expected... but excellent. The contrast between the tart balsamic, rich meat/cream and the sweet butternut squash created a nice depth of flavor. I doubled the squash (about 3 cups, 1/2 a squash) and used macaroni noodles (didn't have penne). Other than that, no changes were necessary. Pair this dish with a crunchy vegetable for a nice texture contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe was rich with flavor. I used half the balsalmic vinegar that it called for...it seemed to be a bit much. Next time I will double the squash. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
used real sausage was the bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have sausage on hand so I used chicken breast chunks. It was a little bland, but I think making it with sausage would make up for that. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Although this recipe was a lot of work, it tasted delicious! My 1year old & 3 year old not only ate it, but had seconds! I did not have butternut squash, but I had yellow summer squash; it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DianeV
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I used this recipe as a guide, but changed a few things based on reading other's reviews. I added about 5 cloves of garlic to the cookie sheet before roasting the squash. While the squash and garlic were roasting, I caramelized 1 medium onion in about 2 tbsp of butter. Please note that I omitted the balsamic vinegar completely from this recipe, but I did use dried sage, since I didn’t have fresh on hand. After the turkey sausage was completely cooked, I kept the flame on medium-low and added the caramelized onions to the pan, then added about ¾ cup of chicken broth, ¼ cup half and half, ¼ cup of fresh, grated parmesan and Romano cheese, and a dash of dried rosemary. I stirred this quite frequently. When the squash and garlic were done I added them to the sausage and onion mixture, being careful not to stir too vigorously so the squash cubes would remain intact. I used fresh linguine instead of penne, and as soon as the pasta was cooked, I drained it and poured the sausage mixture over it in a wide pasta bowl. For a finishing touch, I tore bits of fresh basil and tossed it on top. My husband and 7 year daughter devoured it! Take a look at my photo of this lovely dish! It was very flavorful. I may make it again using pork sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States