Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I made this last week for dinner. It was pretty good. My husband really liked it. I only give it 4 stars because it's not very pretty, the dish looks all tan-colored to me. BUT, I don't like to dice the squash b/c it's kinda tedious, so I roasted it, and therefore the squash was basically added to the pasta in a smashed state, not diced, so that's why it's not as neat and orderly as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This recipe bombed. My child and husband hated it. I'm not a very big fan of sage in food other than dressing anyway but this dish was bland and had no taste. After a couple of bites, I had to throw the entire meal out. Trust me, this one's bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! I used prepared pork sausage w/ basil and garlic instead of turkey. I added 1 clove of garlic and about a tbsp. of butter to roast pan with the squash, and found that I needed to raise the heat to 400º. I added the sage a little at a time to taste. All in all I'd say the flavors went really well together and I would definitely make this again. Maybe for a party I'd serve it with a little fresh sage on top for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Suggestion: this recipe should say that you'll need 5-10 minutes to "cube" the pumpkin. Otherwise, a very nice recipe for Autumn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This turned out to be a REALLY good recipe! A few pointers so you can avoid the dogfood look another reader mentioned. 1) Don't turn the squash more than you have to. Once in the roasting pan and once after you add cream to the saucepan will keep it from going mushy. 2) A little butter and a crushed clove of garlic added to the roasting pan deepens the flavor. 3) Don't let the cream fritter away in the saucepan or the squash/sausage mix will turn to stew and you won't have enough sauce for the penne. 4) You might not even need the pasta - the mix is that good. This is a very tasty, restaurant-quality recipe and the slight drizzle of balsamico adds subtle sparkle to the flavor. An Excellent dish - I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
It was too dry could use more of a sauce. The cream and the balsamic vinaigrette made a sticky coagulation. I probably wouldn’t make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I left out the meat & used steamed summer squash. I used whole milk instead of cream. I served it cold the next day. The flavors had time to blend in the frig. A lovely light lunch fare with nice delicate flavors. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was excellent. However, I did make a few of the suggested changes. When I roasted the squash, I added sage and garlic. I felt that 1/4 c cream was not enough. I ended up using almost a pint. I also used mild Italian sausage as that is what I had in the freezer. It worked well! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe was not at all what I expected... but excellent. The contrast between the tart balsamic, rich meat/cream and the sweet butternut squash created a nice depth of flavor. I doubled the squash (about 3 cups, 1/2 a squash) and used macaroni noodles (didn't have penne). Other than that, no changes were necessary. Pair this dish with a crunchy vegetable for a nice texture contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Super rich recipe. My sauce came out really thick and goopy. Had good flavor but I think I will try it next time with a browned butter sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States