Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Yuck. We did not like this at all. Followed the recipe, but will NOT make again. We are not picky eaters, but this was not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe is really different and very good. I used 3 tablespoons of fresh sage and fat free milk instead of the cream because I am on weight watchers. By cutting out the cream and using wheat pasta this is a core friendly meal! Just be careful you do not over roast the squash, it will come out too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Great recipe, however, I don't think it needs the cream. I added a little bit of milk, but that's about it and it was super creamy. The sage is fantastic. I didn't roast the squash, but shredded it in the food processor and then just loosely sauced it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was great! Though we're not vegetarians we tend to lean more towards vegetarian meals. So in place of the ground turkey, we used some soy andouille. And omitted the rosemary because the andouille has quite a bit of seasoning. Oh, and I was out of heavy cream and used half/half in it's place. Probably not as heavy, but really yummy! We'll keep and do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Wow-- this was so good. I especially liked the squash, and I'm not usually a huge fan of squash! Did some substitutions, based on the ingredients I had (elbow macaroni instead of penne, mild Italian sausage instead of turkey sausage). Based on previous reviews, I did also nuke the squash in the microwave for 3 minutes before cutting into it, as well as preheating the baking sheet, and also adding butter and chopped garlic to the squash. I cooked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, then gently turned the squash cubes and cooked for 15 more minutes at 400 degrees (for carmelization on one side of the squash). Yum, yum, yum! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delish! I used ground turkey with some cayenne pepper, white pepper, allspice and Italian seasonings added to create the sausagey flavor. Also, as per other reviews, I added some butter and a clove of garlic to the onion and squash while roasting. The balsamic vinegar was the key; it completely transformed the dish from ordinary to awesome! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DianeV
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I used this recipe as a guide, but changed a few things based on reading other's reviews. I added about 5 cloves of garlic to the cookie sheet before roasting the squash. While the squash and garlic were roasting, I caramelized 1 medium onion in about 2 tbsp of butter. Please note that I omitted the balsamic vinegar completely from this recipe, but I did use dried sage, since I didn’t have fresh on hand. After the turkey sausage was completely cooked, I kept the flame on medium-low and added the caramelized onions to the pan, then added about ¾ cup of chicken broth, ¼ cup half and half, ¼ cup of fresh, grated parmesan and Romano cheese, and a dash of dried rosemary. I stirred this quite frequently. When the squash and garlic were done I added them to the sausage and onion mixture, being careful not to stir too vigorously so the squash cubes would remain intact. I used fresh linguine instead of penne, and as soon as the pasta was cooked, I drained it and poured the sausage mixture over it in a wide pasta bowl. For a finishing touch, I tore bits of fresh basil and tossed it on top. My husband and 7 year daughter devoured it! Take a look at my photo of this lovely dish! It was very flavorful. I may make it again using pork sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
this looks really yummy. but, i am going to serve it with noodles instead. and, i want to lliven up the color a bit with some chopped parsley added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
we love this! I used sweet Italian sausage ( cubed 1/2 in). Instead of roasting the squash ( also cubed 1/2 in.) and onion I sauteed them on med. high heat in a little olive oil, and in the same pan as I cooked the sausage. They carmelized nicely and the squash held its shape well.I also added some fresh sage to the sautee. After adding the half & half, more fresh sage, and a sbout a 1//3 cup fresh Parmesan cheese I let the sauce sit while the pasta cooked to blend the flavors. It was a great hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good, but dry. As other reviewers have noted, I used milk with cornstarch instead of cream, but I almost tripled the amount of liquid to keep the dish from being too dry. Other than that, great mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States