Pasta with Mushroom and Zucchini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe was a hit for all the veggies it packed into the sauce, but needed a little more flavor for my house. I ended up added a southwest seasoning & fresh thyme and we ate it for a few days! Over pasta one day and over a piece of toasted bread with cheese melted on top the next! I used milk instead of half & half and it worked out fine, just needed to simmered for a bit longer but the reduction in calories was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I loved this! The only flaw is that it needs a lot of seasoning to spice it up. Salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, etc. But it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
i took the advice of others and added red peppers, oreg. chives and cheese. great sauce! i also added salt and pepper while cooking the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
None of the 3 of us cared for this. Sorry. Don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I pretty much concur with the assessment of naples34102. Great flavor, but hard to get past the look of it, which is about like something a cat coughed up. To help in that department, I waited until within a couple of minutes before serving, and tossed in a handful of fresh, chopped spinach leaves, and garnished with julienne of fresh tomato. Then, dusted liberally with parsley after plating. In place of the flour, I pureed 2/3 of the vegetable mixture in the food processor, which thickened it perfectly. Also, to streamline the caloric content, I used 1 cup skim milk, 1/2 cup chicken broth and 1/2 cup half-and-half. Much trimmer profile this way. All-in-all, it's tasty, but just be prepared that it's a gold medalist in the ugly-duckling cooking contest, which knocks it out of 5-star contention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
the family felt it didn't have that wow factor sorry but simple to make sure could do with a little more help..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Wow! My husband and I loved this. Next time I make it I will add sugar snap peas too. I used portabella mushrooms this time and they added a very nice full flavor. Thanks for a recipe that will now be one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I give this a 3, but it has more potential! 10 zucchini is a ton- I used 2 large zucchini and 2 small yellow zucchini instead and it was overflowing in my large skillet. I love chunky veggies, but I chopped everything very fine for this. I would suggest to puree the veggies. But flavor was definitely there, just needs some tweaking! I added garlic salt, pepper, parmesan and served with fresh tomatoes. (That really helped to compliment the mushroom flavor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I chopped the veggies by hand to make it more visually appealing and added some white wine while sauteeing. Also added about 1/4 cup of sour cream. Delicious! Was like a vegetable stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This dish is terribly short on visual appeal, and that's a shame, since we first feast with our eyes. There is just no other way to describe this sauce other than it was a sort of chunky, odd-colored, creamy mush, definitely not something I wanted to photograph. But boy, oh boy, did this TASTE good! Hubs and I both loved it and believe it or not, weird combination as it is, he actually requested that I pack the leftovers in his lunch tomorrow along with his rotisserie chicken sandwich! We just loved the rich, earthy flavor of this, tho' that was helped along with a specialty porcini mushrom orzo blend rather than farfalle. I found the flour to be totally unnecessary and didn't use it. In fact, I even found I wanted to add a little more half-and-half just before serving. Creative idea, tasty and compatible ingredients, and simply delicious, even tho' you'd never expect it from the looks of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States