Pasta with Mushroom and Zucchini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe was a hit for all the veggies it packed into the sauce, but needed a little more flavor for my house. I ended up added a southwest seasoning & fresh thyme and we ate it for a few days! Over pasta one day and over a piece of toasted bread with cheese melted on top the next! I used milk instead of half & half and it worked out fine, just needed to simmered for a bit longer but the reduction in calories was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Wow! My husband and I loved this. Next time I make it I will add sugar snap peas too. I used portabella mushrooms this time and they added a very nice full flavor. Thanks for a recipe that will now be one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
i took the advice of others and added red peppers, oreg. chives and cheese. great sauce! i also added salt and pepper while cooking the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I made a few changes to this recipe but my results were delish! I only used 2 zucchinis. I sliced my mushrooms and zucchines into thin slices as opposed to food processoring them. I did not use an onion or garlic, just added 1/4 tsp of onion and garlic powder to my butter while it melted. I added 1/2 cup of freshly grater parm. cheese to the sauce during the last few minutes of cooking. I also added quite a bit of salt -- probably 1 teaspoon + all together, but it needed it and was not salty at all when finished. I used rigatoni pasta (I had it on hand) and it was soooo wonderful! It's one of my new favorite base recipes for a creamy sauce, you can really add any veggie you want, I think it would be wonderful with a few different types of mushrooms and no zucchini for a creamy mushroom pasta. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Wonderful! I chopped the veggies instead of putting them in the food processor (afraid I'd have veggie soup instead), and we ate them with homeade orrechiette. My husband isn't much for vegetarian dinners but his plate was so clean it could have skipped the dishwasher :) I made it 2 nights in a row and it's now a #1 meal in my weekly menu. thanks helena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
One of my husbands all time favorites. I slice all of the veges instead of chopping them in the food processor, this makes them more noticable. I only use 1 zuccini and usually try to put in a couple types of mushrooms totaling 1 lb or so (crimini and shitake are both excellent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My husband and I both thought this recipe was delicious. Because I like my pasta saucy, I pureed about half the veggies, making a thick sauce, and chopped the other half. A little extra salt, pepper and parm on top and yumm! It's rich and unique, I never would have thought of it myself. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
A quick and tasty recipe. We used green onions and a store bought alfredo sauce to use it up. Will try next time with the listed sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I was a bit hesitant while I was cooking this...it didn't seem like it would make a good sauce. But it actually turned out quite well. I added quite a bit more garlic and pepper, and I used skim milk instead of the cream. It is a very thick, chunky sauce...so make sure you use a pasta that will hold onto the sauce, like the bow ties or shells. When I'm craving creamy pasta without the fat, I'll go for this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I loved this! The only flaw is that it needs a lot of seasoning to spice it up. Salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, etc. But it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States