Pasta with Mushroom and Zucchini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I chopped the veggies by hand to make it more visually appealing and added some white wine while sauteeing. Also added about 1/4 cup of sour cream. Delicious! Was like a vegetable stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This dish is terribly short on visual appeal, and that's a shame, since we first feast with our eyes. There is just no other way to describe this sauce other than it was a sort of chunky, odd-colored, creamy mush, definitely not something I wanted to photograph. But boy, oh boy, did this TASTE good! Hubs and I both loved it and believe it or not, weird combination as it is, he actually requested that I pack the leftovers in his lunch tomorrow along with his rotisserie chicken sandwich! We just loved the rich, earthy flavor of this, tho' that was helped along with a specialty porcini mushrom orzo blend rather than farfalle. I found the flour to be totally unnecessary and didn't use it. In fact, I even found I wanted to add a little more half-and-half just before serving. Creative idea, tasty and compatible ingredients, and simply delicious, even tho' you'd never expect it from the looks of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
very disappointing meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I grated the zucchini and sliced the onions and mushrooms and added red bell pepper. 2% milk with an added tblsp of butter made this plenty creamy for me. Thyme, salt, and black pepper and a garnish of chives made for a very tasty pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This had a unique flavor and was very easy to prepare. I used the same ingredients (except I subbed a mix of almond milk and coconut milk for the cream, and I used spelt flour), but my process was different. I sauteed the veggies before pureeing them, and I pureed only about 3/4 of the mixture. It was much more thick than saucy, so I think next time I'll puree half, add some veg broth, and omit the flour. I also added fresh oregano and thyme--yum! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
A good basic sauce. Could be tweaked a little to give it more "kick" (red pepper?). I pureed all the zucchini and my squash-hating teenager never even knew it was in there; she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Good recipe. I had alot more sauce than I wanted on the noodles so I just froze the remainder and used it later for a quick dinner. I also added a half cup of chicken broth to the garlic and vegetables while they were cooking- that added good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was disappointing. It didn't really have any flavor. Maybe some cheese in the sauce would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I felt the sauce was a very creative base or foundation to which to add, making it quite versatile. If it would have called for more seasonings I would have given it a 4. I chose to add fresh ground pepper, garlic salt, a pinch of paprika and a pinch of dry mustard. It was quite tasty. Next time I would saute the veggies with evoo before putting them in the food processor for more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
A quick and tasty recipe. We used green onions and a store bought alfredo sauce to use it up. Will try next time with the listed sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States