Pasta with Mock Creamy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Fantastic! My carnivores loved this. I made it using 100% whole wheat rotini and cooked the pasta in vegetable broth. A hearthealthy, vegetarian entree that is flavorful, robust and even better as a leftover two days later. Made it when entertaining and it was simple and didn't lock me away from the guests during preperation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I found this sauce to be very flavorful and unusual. After reading some reviews commenting that the sauce was missing something, I tried using beef broth instead of veggie broth. It worked - the sauce was delicious. And the bit of chili paste adds a perfect background of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Wow, this was delicious! my first time using tofu, and it turned out wonderful. Like other reviewers, I just added diced tomatoes instead of the jar of peppers. Then added some veggies i had on hand, some extra spices (paprika, pepper, and red pepper flakes) and it was ready...very flavourful. It also froze and thawed well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe, but seriously lacking something. I cannot identify what is missing, although if I am to make this again, I'll add either a lot more chili paste and/or lots of red pepper flakes and more garlic. I think that would help. Overall, much healthy than using cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was very good and easy! I've never cooked with tofu before and it came out great! It's a perfect way to get quick and easy protein and it is delicious, very creamy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hignites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We really enjoyed this! I followed the recipe pretty closely, but did make a few changes. I used beef broth like another review had mentioned, used about 2 tbsp of garlic, instead of chili paste I added about a tsp of chili power and couple shakes of red hot, and added about a 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese while it was simmering. Also, I found the sauce to watery so I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch and let it simmer for about 5-10 min. I really liked the texture and the taste. It made a lot so we froze half of the leftovers. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was my first recipe using tofu. I really liked the texture it gave the sauce. The only thing different I did was to add about 1/2 cup grated fresh parmesan to the sauce instead of putting on top. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I really, really liked this recipe. The flavors are great! I was worried my husband would not like the roasted red pepper flavor, but he liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This was fabulous! I was skeptical because I don't like tofu normally, but I decided to give it a try anyway, and I'm glad I did. The only thing I changed was I used frozen petite asparagus, 11oz. roasted peppers, 12.3 oz. tofu, and more garlic. I also added some parm. cheese to the sauce. I will pass this on to friends & family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Kase Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is a wonderful creamy sauce. My son gobbled it down. The extra sauce not used is great to keep for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States